2021 Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow scholarships

Top row, from left, Courtney Turck, Elle Hoops and Reilly Hoops. Second row, Everett Paul, Lane Miller and Isaac Suchor.

The South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation, in cooperation with Farmers Union Insurance, announces the Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow scholarship recipients.

Each of the scholarship recipients will receive $1,000 to put toward their post-secondary education at a South Dakota college, university or technical school. Over the past 14 years, the Foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships to students.

The recipients were chosen from among a large pool of applicants. They were scored based on a combination of academic record, school, community and volunteer involvement and an essay responding to the following prompt: Describe a meaningful high school experience and how it impacted your life.

Farmers Union Insurance agents throughout the state fund this scholarship program administered by the Farmers Union Foundation. “Supporting tomorrow’s leaders through scholarships not only helps these amazing youth and their families, but it is one way Farmers Union remains strong in our support of family farmers, ranchers and their rural communities,” says Doug Sombke, SDFU President.

Scholarship recipients include Abigail Mayer, SF Washington High School; Courtney Turck, Redfield High School; Ella Wittmuss, Vermillion High School; Elle Hoops, Huron High School; Everett Paul, Sunshine Bible Academy; Hannah Whitney, Armour High School; Hayley Hanson, Winner High School; Isaac Suchor, Redfield High School; Jessie Lux, Eureka High School; Josh Hoffman, Leola High School; Kayla Van Osdel, Gayville-Volin High School; Kelcey Butler, Philip High School; Kennedy Leiferman, Kimball High School; Kyle Peterson, Northwestern High School; Lane Miller, Howard High School; Lauren Weishaar, Lemmon High School; Layton Eide, Deuel High School; Lindsey Grabowska, Ipswich Public High School; Logan Wagner, SF Roosevelt High School; Madison Weishaar, Lemmon High School; Mitchell VanderWal, Northwestern High School; Reilly Hoops, Huron High School; Sadie Streff, Clark High School; Samantha Hubert, New Underwood High School and Shaley Dirk, Newell High School.

To learn more about how South Dakota Farmers Union & South Dakota Farmers Union Insurance supports South Dakota’s family farmers, ranchers and their communities, visit www.sdfu.org.