4-H youth photo exhibits featured in 2018 South Dakota 4-H calendar

BROOKINGS — During the 2017 South Dakota State Fair, 2,556 photos taken by South Dakota 4-Hers were evaluated by judges.
Those photography exhibits which were selected as Judge’s Choice and Honorable Mention winners will be featured in the annual South Dakota 4-H Calendar.
“Photos that wow the judges are marked with a ‘WOW’ on their exhibit tag, placed in a separate area and are then re-evaluated for entry into the calendar,” said Amanda Stade, SDSU Extension State 4-H Events Management Coordinator.
Twenty-five Judge’s Choice and 25 Honorable Mention photos were selected to be included in the 2018 calendar.
The 2018 calendar will include images from 45 4-H youth, ages 8 to 18 from 26 South Dakota counties.
Judge’s Choice photos were awarded to: Laci Svennes, Beadle County; Tyler Neth, BonHomme County; Steven Neth, BonHomme County; Sawyer Naasz, Brule County; Nicolette Schmidt, Clark County; Jennifer Tonak, Clark County; Garrett Mertens, Grant County; Joel Opdahl, Hamlin County; Noah Everson, Hamlin County; Haley Schnathorst, Hand County; Caleb Hodges, Lake County; Juliana Hodges, Lake County; Gracen Juffer, Lincoln County; Adam Bishman, Lincoln County; Alex Ruud, Lincoln County; Brittany Hazel, Minnehaha County; Jaden Crowser, Pennington County; Alissa Stephens, Pennington County; Tanner Eide, Potter County; Brooklyn Beringer, Potter County; Brooklyn Swenson, Sanborn County; Mackenzie Jordan, Union County; Heather Maier, Yankton County.
Some youths had more than one photo which received a Judges Choice award.
Honorable Mention photos were awarded to: Madelyn Larsen, Beadle County; Callie Mickelson, Campbell County; Emily Rolfes, Clay County; Kaitlyn Sandland, Davison County; Callie Westendorf, Douglas County; Nicolette Hoffman, Douglas County; Landon Coyle, Hand County; Mercedes Jarding, Hanson County; Johnathon Neuharth, Hughes/Stanley County; Tobe’ Carias, Lincoln County; Isabelle Vargas, Lincoln County; Heather Storbakken, Marshall County; Ella Stiefvater, McCook County; Jonathan Butler, McPherson County; Kodi Retzer, McPherson County; Mercedes Shangreaux, Pennington County; Olivia Miller, Pennington County; Abby Steen, Roberts County; Jaxen Dockter, Roberts County; Kellen Rempp, Roberts County; Zane Rohde, Tripp County; Wade McClanahan, Tripp County; Heather Maier, Yankton County.
Some youth had more than one photo receive an Honorable Mention.
All proceeds from calendar sales will go to promote 4-H events. The 2018 South Dakota 4-H Calendar is available online at iGrow.org/store.

Photograph by Mackenzie Jordan, Union County

Video News
More In Homepage