All-Stars claim title at Brookings Tournament

BROOKINGS — The Huron All-Stars scored twice in each period to win the championship of the Brookings Junior Gold Hockey Tournament with a 6-1 victory against the host team on Sunday.
Spencer Busch had a pair of unassisted goals in the opening period to get the All-Stars rolling. The first came at the 12:31 mark, while the second was with 3:21 remaining in the opening period.
Huron was able to stretch its lead to 4-0 with goals by Carson Duba and Xavier Erickson in the second period.
Duba score with 5:23 remaining in the second period with Busch and Erickson combining on the assist. Erickson would find the net with just 17 seconds remaining in the period, with an assist going to Walker Schiltz.
Brookings put its lone goal of the game on the board during the first minute of the third period, as Kane Kurtenbach scored on a pass from Luc Bouchard.
The All-Stars needed less than a minute to answer with its first of two goals in the final period. Lucas Snyder scored on a pass from Duba to make it 5-1.
Busch capped the scoring for Huron to earn the hat trick with his third goal with 9:27 remaining in the game. Schiltz was credited with the assist.
Jacob Wehde carried a shutout into the final period as the goalie for the All-Stars. He stopped all 10 shots he faced during the frist two periods and then recorded nine saves in the third period to earn the win.
Huron will be off this week and return to action with the Moorhead (Minn.) Tournament, which is scheduled Dec. 29-31.


Front row, from left: Maxim Glanzer, Jacob Wehde and Andy Hansen. Back row: Marty Boetel, Walker Schiltz, Thacher Dramstad, Xavier Erickson, Jackson Hook, Josiah Savery, Matt Voss, Payton Cass, Carson Duba, Rei Hoops, Spencer Busch, Tanner Berquist, Kent Sawada, Lucas Snyder, Cody Ruedebusch and Mason McDonald.

Photo contributed

Video News
More In Homepage