Area runners earn academic honor

HURON — Several area runners were named to the Academic All-State Team for cross country during the 2023 season.

In order to be eligible for the honor, a runner must be a senior with a 3.5 grade-point average or higher.

Earning the honor were Clark/Willow Lake: Emma Peterson, Macy Bochek, Danielle Batchelor; Highmore-Harrold : Carson Stephenson; Hitchcock-Tulare: Cambree McNeil, Josiah Wiebe; Huron: Kayeleigh Bowden, Cameron Cutshaw, Will Knippling, Tatum Peterson; James Valley Christian: Rhayonna Hood; Miller: Alex Schumacher; Wessington Springs: Abby Kolousek; and Woonsocket: Jeff Boschee.