Arrows claim 2023 ESD golf title

YANKTON — The Harrisburg Tigers took the top two spots, but the Watertown Arrows swept the next four places to earn the team title Monday at the Eastern South Dakota Conference golf tournament at Fox Run Golf Course.

Hayden Scott took medalist honors with a four-under-par 68 to edge both teammate Parker Schultz and Jake Olson of Watertown by two strokes. Arrows Jaden Solheim and Kaden Rylance each carded 71 and teammate Johnny Lake fired an even par 72 to round out the Watertown scoring.

The Arrows had a team score of 284, two strokes ahead of Harrisburg in what was a two-team race, with Brandon Valley a distant third, 17 strokes back.

The Huron Tigers finished ninth in the team race, led by Aiden Zavesky’s 90, placing him in 47th place. Jace Bales shot 96, Jack Bales carded a 97 and Ben Kleinsasser shot 109 to round out the Tiger scoring. Other Huron golfers include Riley Jankord with a 111 and Kolton Ogle with a 128.

Next up for all teams is the Class AA State Golf Tournament, set for Oct. 2-3, at the Brandon Golf Course. Tee time is 9 a.m. both days.