Busch, Heinz earn All-ESD honors

BROOKINGS — Two Huron sophomores were named to the 2017-2018 All-Eastern South Dakota Conference Boys’ and Girls’ Basketball Teams, which were announced Monday.
Kobe Buch was named to the boy’s team for the Tigers, while Havyn Heinz was named to the girls’ team.
Also named to the boys’ team were seniors Cole Bergan and Jonah Doher of Aberdeen Central; senior Cade Terveer and junior Evan Talcott of Brandon Valley; junior Nick Hoyt and senior Brady VanHolland of Harrisburg; senior Peyton Zable of Pierre; senior Cad Cummings of Watertown and freshman Matthew Mors of Yankton.
Receiving honorable mention were junior Drew Cole of Brookings and senior Ace Zorr of Harrisburg.
With a 13-3 record, Harrisburg claimed the ESD boys’ title. Aberdeen Central and Brandon Valley shared the second spot with records of 12-4, while Yankton was fourth at 11-5. Watertown was fifth at 8-8, followed by Pierre at 6-10, Huron at 5-11, Brookings at 4-12 and Mitchell at 1-15
Also named to the girls’ team were senior Paiton Burckhard of Aberdeen Central; juniors Trinity Law and and Danica Kocer of Brandon Valley; junior Michaela Jewett of Brookings; junior Jeniah Ugofsky of Harrisburg; junior Mac Miller of Mitchell; junior Emily Mikkelsen of Pierre; sophomore Megan Fannin of Watertown; and sophomore Madison Wuebben of Yankton.
Receiving honorable mention were seniors Haylee Mord of Aberdeen Central and Sydney Halling of Harrisburg.
Aberdeen Central went 16-0 to win the ESD girls’ title, while Harrisburg was second at 12-4. Brandon Valley finished at 11-5 for the third spot, followed by Brookings at 10-6 and Pierre at 8-8 to round out the top five. Mitchell, Watertown and Yankton all finished 5-11 to share the sixth spot, while Huron was ninth at 0-16.

Video News
More In Sports