CFEL holds Fall Council in Huron

COURTESY PHOTOS Receiving Reading Certificates during the CFEL Fall Council Meeting held in Huron are, from left, Tootie Stahl, Deanne Ness, Opal Houck and Alison Dennis.

The Beadle County CFEL (Community Family, Extension Leaders) held its fall council meeting Oct. 10 at the Huron Senior Center, featuring a pork chop bake meal.

Danyelle Brotherton, from the Huron Public Library, spoke to the group about the programs offered to all age groups at the library. This goes along with the issue of “Taking Care of Our Children.” Members asked many questions.  

Guest speaker was Danyelle Brotherton from Huron Public Library.

County President Theresa Horn called the business meeting to order. Diana Barton led the Pledge of Allegiance, the South Dakota flag salute, the CFEL creed and the mission statement. County Secretary Julie Boomsma took roll call and read the minutes of the last meeting. County Treasure Deanne Ness gave the treasure’s report.

Dianne Perry and Boomsma led the group in several Halloween and fall songs.

BCNU Club was recognized as being the oldest at 45 years. Members include, back row, from left, Pat Jones, Suzanne Hewitt, Brenda Christiansen and Clara Carter; front row, Tootie Stahl, Opal Houck and Jackie Spillum; and seated, Lorene Cavigielli.

It was decided to extend a donation to the Senior Center for the use of the building.

Horn talked about the possibility of decorating a Christmas tree or wreath for the live auction that will be held Nov. 17.  Proceeds will go to the Senior Center. Each club will decide on its own if they want to do it.

Area Director Alison Dennis gave several awards, which were presented at the State Convention, including an award for BCNU Club as the oldest club at 45 years, and Laura Smidt, a charter member, for 45 years of membership.

Laura Smidt, a charter member of the BCNU Club, was honored for 45 years of membership.

Deanne Ness and Tootie Stahl received certificates for volunteering more than 50 hours of community service. Dennis also presented reading report certificates to Tootie Stahl, Deanne Ness, Opal Houck and Alison Dennis.

Beadle County received the Gold Seal from the State CFEL, for getting its state dues and membership in on time, and getting reports to the Area Directors on time.

Newly-elected president Diana Barton, left, was installed by County President Theresa Horn.

Horn installed the new upcoming president, Diana Barton, who will take over her duties  Jan. 1. The county still needs to elect a vice-president.

Ness, Barton, Horn and Dennis reported on the State Convention that was held in Aberdeen in September.

Beadle County, (Area IV)  will host the State Convention Sept. 20-21, 2024, at the Huron Event Center. The theme for the convention is “Christmas in September.”

The Spring Council/Area meeting will be April 13 at the Senior Center. Lynette Culver, state president will be attending the meeting.

The Issues for 2024 are: “Minds Matter” and “Aging Gracefully.”

People were reminded that membership dues need to be to treasurer Deanne Ness by Nov. 1, as she needs to get them to the state treasurer by Dec. 1. Door prizes were awarded.

Honored for volunteer hours were Tootie Stahl, left, and Deanne Ness.