City of Huron Water and Sewer Department receives award

PIERRE — The South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) announced today that the City of Huron public water system and the system’s operation specialists have been awarded a Secretary’s Award for Drinking Water Excellence.

“The coronavirus has brought us many challenges this year including uncertainty about the health of our families and communities. Thanks to the extraordinary efforts of South Dakota’s public water supply systems, one resource we do not need to worry about is safe drinking water. DENR is excited to award the City of Huron with the Secretary’s Award for Drinking Water Excellence for its efforts during the COVID-19 pandemic and for delivering safe drinking water to their customers for 19 consecutive years,” said DENR Secretary Hunter Roberts. “Year after year, the City of Huron system operation specialists have worked tirelessly to provide safe drinking water to its customers, and this year is no exception.”

The system’s operations specialists are Vincent Juelfs, Leigh Smith, Chad Bogh, David Lentz, Bruce Hartley, David Lemke, Robert Rieger, Mark Luckhurst, Andrew Manolis, Zachary Olson, Aaron Rogers, Eugene Katz, Travis Oxandaburu, Robert Hentzi, and Matthew Bowen.

To qualify for the Secretary’s Award for Drinking Water Excellence, public water systems and their system operations specialists had to meet all of the compliance monitoring and reporting requirements, drinking water standards, and certification requirements for 10 consecutive years or more.


More In News