County swears in new commissioners, other department heads

Photo by Benjamin Chase/Plainsman Dennis Meyer takes his oath of office Tuesday morning as County Commissioner, representing the fifth district in Beadle County. Meyer was elected to the position in the 2022 election.

HURON — The Beadle County Commission held its first meeting of the year Tuesday morning, with the swearing in of county commissioners - two newly elected and one re-elected - at the top of the agenda.

Dennis Meyer, representing District 5, and Allen Greenfield, representing District 3, were sworn in by county auditor Jill Hanson as new commissioners. Denis Drake was sworn in after being re-elected to his seat representing District 1.

The commission chose to retain Doug Ramsell as chair and Rick Benson as vice chair for 2023. The commission also spent time on committee assignments for the upcoming year.

Also taking the oath of office for Beadle County were Hanson, Judy Rodacker, Register of Deeds and Sheriff Doug Solem.

TrueNorth Steel was awarded the bid for culverts. Jason Fritzsche, highway superintendent, reported that he had no updates from last week’s year-end meeting from the highway department.

Sheriff Solem reported that after making calls last week, he intends to go to bid for the meal contract with the Beadle County jail. The bid date will be set and Solem will contact interested parties.

County commissioners also terminated an employee at the county nurse’s office and set the date for the township meeting for February 14.

The next commission meeting is Jan. 17 at 9 a.m. in the commission room at the courthouse.