Crowning a new Miss State Fair

PHOTO BY BENJAMIN CHASE/PLAINSMAN The three crown winners pose in front of a Miss South Dakota organization banner. From left are, Miss Huron Hunter Widvey, Miss State Fair Outstanding Teen Natalie Biegler, and Miss State Fair Miranda O’Bryan.

HURON — After the pageant wasn’t held in 2020 due to the pandemic, seven candidates for the Miss South Dakota State Fair title and two candidates for the Miss South Dakota State Fair Outstanding Teen displayed their talents in a scholarship competition Saturday afternoon.

Reigning Miss State Fair Annie Woodmansey shared that her two-year run with the title was an odd reign due to the pandemic, but she was very blessed to represent the organization and the State Fair over the time. She, along with reigning Miss State Fair Outstanding Teen Danielle Nowell and reigning Miss Huron Javonte Madsen each were selected for their title in 2019.

The pageant began with an introduction of each of the candidates and the presentation of the candidates’ social impact presentations. After an introduction of the judges and a dance presentation by reigning Miss South Dakota Kaitlin O’Neill, the talent portion of the competition captivated the audience.

Huron native Jaycee Clark was selected as Miss Congeniality by her fellow contestants and Rachel Friez was awarded the Mary Ellen Vaillancourt Kindness Award, which comes with a $150 scholarship.

• Miss State Fair: Miranda O’Bryan, awarded $500 scholarship.
• Miss Huron: Hunter Widvey, awarded $400 scholarship. Hunter also won the Top Talent award, winning a $100 scholarship.
• Miss First Runner Up: Elizabeth Nesland, awarded $200 scholarship.
• Miss State Fair Outstanding Teen: Natalie Biegler, awarded $150 scholarship.
• Kindness — Rachel Friez was awarded the Mary Ellen Vaillencourt Kindness Award, which carries a $150 scholarship.
• Congeniality — Huron native Jaycee Clark was awarded the Miss Congeniality award, which comes with an award box provided by Black Tie.

Judges for the event were Katlyn Bartz, LaRae Holland, Andrew Cina, Terri Gaikowski and Gwyn Fischbach.



More In Community