De Smet to face top seed Avon in 9B semifinals

HURON — The semi-final matchups for the South Dakota High School Activities Association football playoffs are set in five of the seven classes.

In Class 9B, fourth-seeded De Smet will travel to face top-seeded Avon at 7 p.m., on Friday.

Both teams have an 8-2 record.

In the other 9B semifinal, No. 11-seeded Potter County, which is 5-5, will travel to face second-seeded Faulkton Area, which is 9-1, at 7 p.m. Friday.

Class 9A
Top-seeded Warner will put its 10-0 record on the line when it hosts fourth-seeded Canistota (8-2) at 7 p.m. Friday. Third-seeded Philip also boasts a 10-0 mark and will host seventh-seeded Deubrook Area (7-3) at 6 p.m. Friday.

Class 9AA
Top-seeded Parkston is the lone undefeated team remaining with a 10-0 record. The Trojans will host fourth-seeded Hamlin (9-1) at 7 p.m. Friday.

In the other 9AA matchup, second-seeded Platte-Geddes will host third-seeded Howard at 7 p.m. Friday. Both teams are 9-1.

Class 11B
Top-seeded Winner carries a 10-0 record into the semifinals and will host No. 4-seeded Elk Point-Jefferson, which is 9-1, at 7 p.m. Friday.

Hot Springs, which is the No. 6 seed with a 9-1 record, will host Rapid City Christian, which is 8-2, on Friday. A start time has not been announced.

Class 11A
Top-seeded Dell Rapids, which is 10-0, will host fourth-seeded Sioux Falls Christian (8-2) at 7 p.m. Friday. Second-seeded West Central, which is 9-1, will host sixth-seeded Lennox (6-4)  at 7 p.m. Friday.

Class 11AA
The field for the semifinals in Class 11AA was set Friday night.

Fourth-seeded Watertown (7-3) will travel to face top-seeded Pierre (8-1) on Friday.

In the other semi-final matchup, second-seeded Yankton (9-1) will host third-seeded Tea Area (6-3) on Friday.

Class 11AAA
Fourth-seeded Brandon Valley (7-3) will visit top-seeded Sioux Falls Lincoln (9-0) on Friday.
In the other semi-final matchup, second-seeded Harrisburg (8-2) will host third-seeded O’Gorman (8-2) at 6 p.m. Friday.

The SDHSAA football championships will be held Nov. 9-11 at the DakotaDome in Vermillion.