De Smet's Wilkinson named MVP of DVC; Gruenhagen is COTY

ELKTON — De Smet senior Damon Wilkinson was named as the Most Valuable Player in the Dakota Valley Conference for the 2022-2023 boys’ basketball season, while De Smet coach Jeff Gruenhagen was named as the DVC’s Coach of the Year.

The Bulldogs won the DVC boys’ title this season with a 9-0 record in the conference and were 17-3 overall.

Junior Kadyn Fast of De Smet, was also named to the first team, along with junior Nic Gaspar of Dell Rapids St. Mary, junior Lane Tvedt of Castlewood, sophomore Bryon Laue of Castlewood and senior Ryan Krog of Elkton-Lake Benton.

Junior George Jensen of De Smet and senior Logan Peskey of Iroquois/Lake Preston were named to the second team, along with junior Jake Jorenby of Deubrook Area, sophomore Trevon Beckman of Dell Rapids St. Mary, senior Braxton Saathoff of Estelline/Hendricks, and senior Booker Schooley of Castlewood.

Senior Kasen Janssen of De Smet was named to the third team, along with sophomore Maverick LeBrun of Dell Rapids St. Mary, senior Joe Decker of Castlewood, sophomore Jackson Zwart of Colman-Egan, senior Joe McAninch of Estelline/Hendricks and junior Landen Johnson of Deubrook Area.

Honorable mention went to senior Gannon Gruenhagen of De Smet, senior Riley Casper of Iroquois/Lake Preston, junior Blake Madsen of Arlington, junior Jackson Schoefield of Castlewood, sophomore Jase Mousel of Colman-Egan, senior CJ Smith of Dell Rapids St. Mary, junior Gavin Landmark of Deubrook Area, junior Carson Griffth of Elkton-Lake Benton, junior Mattix Hausman of Estelline/Hendricks and junior Caden Hojer of Oldham-Ramona/Rutland.

Lake Central Conference
CLEAR LAKE — Seniors Damon Wilkinson and Kasen Janssen of De Smet were named to the All-Lake Central Conference boys’ basketball team, along with seniors Kaplan Felberg and Trey Huber of Clark/Willow Lake.

Also named to the All-LCC boys’ team were senior Parick Carey, senior Oliver Vincent and junior Alec Squires of Sioux Valley; senior Brennan Keszler, junior Tyson Stevenson and sophomore Easton Neuendorf of Hamlin; junior Lane Tvedt and sophomore Bryon Laue of Castlewood; junior Trey Maaland of Deuel; and sophomore Paul Parsley of Flandreau.

Sioux Valley went 6-0 to win the LCC boys’ title, while Hamlin was 5-1. De Smet was third at 4-2, followed by Castlewood at 3-3, Clark/Willow Lake at 2-4, Deuel at 1-5 and Flandreau at 0-6.

Seniors Emma Albrecht and Jada Burke of De Smet, along with senior Kayla Jordan of Clark/Willow Lake were named to the Lake Central Conference girls’ basketball team.

Hamlin went 6-0 to win the LCC girls’ title and were represented on the team by seniors Kami Wadsworth, senior Ally Abraham and freshman Addie Neuendorf.

Also named to the All-LCC girls’ team were senior Mackenzie Everson, senior Maddie Horn and junior Presley Knecht of Castlewood; senior Landree Wilson, senior Ashley Bjerke and sophomore Isabelle Bloker of Sioux Valley; juniors Claire Sheppard, Lizzie Pavlis and Lily Klein of Flandreau; and junior osie Andersen of Deuel.

Castlewood, Sioux Valley and Flandreau all finished 4-2 in the LCC. De Smet ended the season at 2-4, followed by Clark/Willow Lake at 1-5 and Deuel at 0-6.

Big Dakota Conference
WINNER — Alex Schumacher and Trevor Werdel of Miller were named to the All-Big Dakota Conference boys’ basketball team, which was announced Monday.

Also named to the All-BDC boys’ team were Dakota Munger of Chamberlain; Quentin McBride Jr. of Crow Creek; Elias Sims and Jre Antelope of McLaughlin; Jackson Eisemann of Mobridge-Pollock; Boch Zeeb of Stanley County; Ray Crow and Charles Long of Todd County; and Blake Volmer and Shawn Hammerbeck of Winner.

Earning honorable mention were Spencer Fernholz and Isaak Hunter of Miller; Kenyon McClosky and Collin Two Strike of Chamberlain; MacKenzie Cass and Easton Lawrence of Cheyenne-Eagle Butte; Kiron Thompson of Crow Creek; Reymin Yellow Earrings of McLaughlin; Michael Wald of Mobridge-Pollock; Kaden Montana of Stanley County; Drake Espinoza and Ty Valandra of Todd County; and Aiden Barfus and Ethan Bartels of Winner.