FFA Fair results - 2019

Members of the South Dakota FFA participated in a wide range of educational activities during the 2019 South Dakota State Fair, where there were a record 358 FFA members who exhibited 1121 exhibits. Results were as follows:
1st – McCook Central
• 1st place – Beresford
• 2nd place – Arlington
• 3rd place – Parker
Sponsored by Valley Queen Cheese Factory, Milbank.
• 1st place – McCook Central
Sponsored by Valley Queen Cheese Factory, Milbank.
• 1st place - Hadley Stiefvater, McCook
• 2nd place - Teagan Mason, Doland
• 3rd place - Hunter Eide, Gettysburg
Sponsored by Jakober Limousin, Aberdeen.
• Champion Market Steer – Bryce Beitelspacher, Bowdle
• Reserve Champion Market Steer – Ryley Hellmann, Bon Homme
• Champion Market Heifer – McKenzye Gunderson, Harrisburg
• Reserve Champion Market Heifer – Tessa Pederson, Garretson
• Market Beef Showmanship – 1st: Savannah Vogel, Winner; 2nd: Kylie Grace Harriman, Menno; 3rd: Payton Beare, Highmore; 4th: Mitchell VanderWal, Northwestern Area; 5th: Madison Evie, Selby
• Champion English Breeding Heifer – Jady LeDoux, Highmore
• Reserve Champion English Breeding Heifer – Sawyer Styles, Northwestern Area
• Champion Exotic Breeding Heifer – Kenidey Effling, Highmore
• Reserve Champion Exotic Breeding Heifer –Kenzy Beare, Estelline
Overall Grand Champion Breeding Heifer - Jady LeDoux, Highmore
• Overall Reserve Champion Breeding Heifer - Kenidey Effling, Highmore
• Breeding Beef Showmanship – 1st: Logan Zemlicka, Wolsey-Wessington; 2nd: Sawyer Styles, Northwestern Area; 3rd: Tate Johnson, Beresford; 4th: Sawyer Naasz, Platte/Geddes; 5th: Drew Pederson, Garretson
• Breeding and Market Beef Showmanship sponsored by Jakober Limousin, Aberdeen
• Champion Market Gilt – Melanie Calmus, Howard
• Reserve Champion Market Gilt – Cash Lehrman, Bridgewater-Emery
• Market Gilt Showmanship- 1st: Jeffrey Paulson, Clark; 2nd: Ashton Ross, Lennox-Sundstrom; 3rd: Abby Blagg, McCook Central; 4th: Brian Feldhaus, Howard; 5th: Ty Van Hull, Viborg-Hurley
• Champion Market Barrow – Cash Lehrman, Bridgewater-Emery
• Reserve Market Barrow – Makayla Nelson, Arlington
• Market Barrow Showmanship – 1st: Grace DiGiovanni, McCook Central; 2nd Delanie Tangen, Sioux Valley; 3rd: Jackson Nordlund, McCook Central; 4th: Preston Mattheis, Parkston; 5th: Rylee Schultz, Bridgewater-Emery
• Swine Showmanship sponsored by Thompson Family, Harrisburg
• Champion Breeding Ewe – Mary Nold, Rutland
• Reserve Champion Breeding Ewe – Kasandra Knutson, Viborg-Hurley
• Champion Ram - Camden Miller, Estelline
• Reserve Champion Ram– Wesley Linke, Sanborn Central/Woonsocket
• Breeding Sheep Showmanship – 1st: Riggen Zelinsky, Brookings; 2nd: Mary Nold, Rutland; 3rd: Logan Slack, Viborg-Hurley; 4th: Raesa Zelinsky, Brookings; 5th: Emily Nold, Rutland
• Champion Market Lamb – Ella Stiefvater, McCook Central
• Reserve Champion Market Lamb – Brianna Larson, Brookings
• Market Lamb Showmanship – 1st: Jessica Kott, Kimball; 2nd: Colton Michalek, Kimball FFA; 3rd: Raina Johnson, Harrisburg; 4th: Tessa Pederson, Garreston; 5th: Taya Chelmo, Kimball
• Breeding and Market Sheep Showmanship sponsored by Knutson Suffolks, Centerville
• Champion Breeding Meat Goat – Lane Miller, Howard
• Reserve Champion Breeding Meat Goat – Hanna Peterson, Howard
• Breeding Meat Goat Showmanship – 1st: Colton Michalek, Kimball; 2nd: Drew Pederson, Garretson; 3rd: Kahli Gall, Freeman; 4th: Reid Leischner, Parkston; 5th: Parker Johnson, Tri-Valley
• Champion Market Meat Goat – Riley Larson, Wessington Springs
• Reserve Champion Market Meat Goat – Hanna Peterson, Howard
• Market Meat Goat Showmanship – 1st: Ryder Michalek, Kimball; 2nd: Jared Stearns, Hot Springs; 3rd: Tessa Erdmann, Groton; 4th: Riley Larson, Wessington Springs; 5th: Travis Townsend, Groton
• Breeding and Market Meat Goat Showmanship sponsored by Lazy J Bar Ranch, Mina
Overall Champion - Trevon • Cross, Dell Rapids
• Overall Reserve Champion - Trevon Cross, Dell Rapids
• Champion Milking Doe – Trevon Cross, Dell Rapids
• Reserve Champion Milking Doe – Trevon Cross, Dell Rapids
• Champion Dairy Goat - Trevon Cross, Dell Rapids
• Reserve Champion Dairy Goat - Bailey Schlotterbeck, Florence
• Dairy Goat Showmanship- 1st: Trevor Cross, Dell Rapids; 2nd: Bailey Schlotterbeck, Florence; 3rd: Ashley Engel, Chamberlain; 4th: Swade Reis, Chamberlain 5th: Alana Howard, Miller
• Dairy Goat Awards sponsored by Boldt Farms, Arlington
• Grand Champion Rabbit – Trapper Miklos, Arlington
• Reserve Champion Rabbit – Avery Miles, Doland
• Grand & Reserve inkind awards sponsored by Mark & Staci Schloe
• Rabbit Showmanship – 1st: Corissa Sweeter, Lennox-Sundstrom; 2nd: Taylor McMartin, West Central; 3rd: Avery Miles, Doland
• Rabbit Showmanship sponsored by Woehl’s Rabbits/Randy & Phyllis Woehl
• Supreme Champion Female – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Champion Holstein Female – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Senior Champion Holstein – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Senior Reserve Champion Holstein – Bethany Rennich, Sioux Valley
• Junior Champion Holstein Heifer – Natalie Haase, Parker
• Junior Reserve Champion Holstein Heifer – Steven Paulson, Groton
• Champion All Other Breed Female – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Senior Champion All Other Breed – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Senior Reserve Champion All Other Breed – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Junior Champion All Other Breed Heifer – Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg
• Junior Reserve Champion All Other Breed Heifer – Skyler Plucker, Lennox Sundstrom
• Dairy Showmanship: 1st: Natalie Haase, Parker; 2nd: Bethany Rennich, Sioux Valley; 3rd: Jordan Zoellner, Harrisburg; 4th: Travis Sharp, Aberdeen Central; 5th: Elissa Oyen, Tri-Valley  
 • Dairy Showmanship and Supreme Champion Dairy Female sponsored by Valley Queen Cheese Factory, Milbank.
• Champion Dairy Cattle Handler travel scholarship sponsored by PostLane Dairy, Marv & Joy Post.
• 1st Place – Raesa Zelinkski – Brookings
• 2nd Place - Jessica Kott – Kimball
• Round Robin Showmanship sponsored by Odden Cattle Company and Odden Trucking, Ree Heights.
FFA Livestock Show premiums sponsored through the S.D. FFA Foundation by Pulse Electric, LLC, Stengl Oils, and the SD. Cattlemen’s Foundation; a.nd through the S.D. State Fair by First National Bank, Wells Fargo, and Dakota Energy Cooperative.


Video News
More In Community