Finalists named for Miss, Mr. Basketball Awards

Selland, Evers and White up for honor

SIOUX FALLS — Hansen Anderson Basketball, Inc., publishers of South Dakota high school basketball previews since 1976, the oldest such publication in the county, will for the 41st year name the South Dakota prep Miss and Mr. Basketball during its annual awards luncheon at the Ramkota Convention Center in Sioux Falls on Sunday, May 7th.
Eleven men and women, all seniors, were selected as finalists for the prestigious award by a vote of South Dakota high school basketball coaches at the conclusion of the 2016-17 season.
Candidates for Miss Basketball award include: Sebastian Akoi, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Kacey Bartscher, Ethan; Anna Brecht, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Dru Gylten, St. Thomas More; Rachel Hawkins,  Ethan; Chloe Lamb, Sully Buttes; Haley Rithmiller, Webster Area; Erika Sage, Freeman Public Schools; Myah Selland, Sanborn Central/Woonsocket; Sami Slaughter, Harrisburg; and Racquel Wientjes, Sully Buttes.
Candidates for the Mr. Basketball award include: Mason Archambault, Rapid City Stevens; Sam Arend, Bridgewater-Emery; Matt Cartwright, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; JP Costello, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Tye Evers, Huron; Ethan Friedel, Tea Area; Seth Friesz, Chamberlain; Isaac Kortemeyer, St. Thomas More; Tayton Vincent, Sioux Valley; Bennett White, Wolsey-Wessington; and Cooper Williams, Vermillion.
This year’s keynote speaker, Lillie Brown ranks as one of the top women’s basketball players in Southwest Minnesota State University history. She was recently named to the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Top 25 - one of the top 25 athletes ever to play in the NSIC. In 2015 she was inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame and was inducted into the SMSU Hall of Honor in 2007
After working three years for the Sioux Falls Skyforce as a Marketing Consultant, she moved on to Rockford, IL to serve as the General Manager of the Rockford Lightning of the CBA.  She continues to be active in South Dakota basketball serving as the General Manager for the Dakota Blue Devils AAU Basketball Club and Co-Director of Basketball Operations for the Sanford Pentagon Basketball Academy.
The luncheon is open to the public but tickets must be RSVP’d in advance by e-mail to [email protected] or calling toll free at 1-800-621-0801. Tickets are priced at $25. Doors will open at noon for lunch with the awards presentation beginning at approximately 1 p.m.

Video News
More In Sports