Foster Grandparent and RSVP volunteers honored at annual recognition event

Volunteers of America, Dakotas held its Annual Foster Grand-parent and RSVP Recognition Event at The Plains in Huron on Sept. 21.
Volunteers enjoyed hors d’oeuvres while entertained by the music of Tom Pickles. The theme for the event was “We are Grateful for Our Volunteers.” Mayor Aylward spoke to express his gratitude for the outstanding contributions of volunteers in the town of Huron.
Josh Haeder, with the office of Senator Mike Rounds, also addressed the volunteers of Huron with a message of thanks and appreciation on behalf of the South Dakota National Delegates.
The Presidential Lifetime Service Award was presented to Opal Houck. This award is given to volunteers contributing 4,000 or more hours of service. As of June 30, 2017, Opal had reached 4072 hours!  
A plaque and certificate for 25 years of service through RSVP will be awarded to Jane DeLong, who was unable to attend the event.
Recipients of five year awards were Marilyn Hofer, Janice Ellsworth and Shirley Magee. Ten year certificates were awarded to Ardyce Jensen, Ruth Kelley, Jerry Mencke, Sandy Mencke and Calvin Huber.
New to the Huron RSVP program this year is the “Caught You Making a Difference” award. Partnering agencies that utilize RSVP volunteers can nominate volunteers for this award based on outstanding dependability, commitment and positive attitude. The award will be given on a quarterly basis, surprising the nominee while they are volunteering. Each recipient will receive a certificate and flower arrangement donated by Walker Flower Shop. The very first  award was presented during the recognition event to Bob Eickhoff. He was nominated by Wanda Barthelman from the Huron Convention and Visitors Bureau.


First, from left, are Marilyn Hofer and Janice Ellsworth, who were both honored for five years of service through RSVP, and Ardyce Jensen and Ruth Kelley, who were honored for 10 years of service. Not pictured are Shirley Magee, five years of service, and Jerry Mencke, Sandy Mencke and Calvin Huber, 10 years.
Next, Opal Houck holds the Presidential Lifetime Service Award she received for contributing more than 4,000 hours of service.
And next, Bob Eickhoff receives the “Caught You Making a Difference” award. He is shown with Wanda Barthelman from the Huron Convention and Visitors Bureau, who nominated him for this new award.

Photos contributed


© 2020-Huron Plainsman

Video News
More In Community