Green flag drops in Miller

PHOTOS COURTESY OF ALLEN BECKER Modified action was hot and heavy Saturday night, as Blake Meyer of Huron enters the corner on the inside of both Cory Bergquist of Huron and Spence Pollock from Orient in the Midwest Modified Main. In the next photo, John Cable of Geddes (14C) holds the inside line on Luke Johnson of Miller during racing action Saturday night at Miller Central Speedway.

It was a cold and miserable night at the Miller Central Speedway, but after a cold and wet spring, drivers and fans were all excited to see the green flag drop.Fifty-five cars and the die hard fans were on hand. The evening was sponsored by Agtegra.
There was little of the predicted rain, but a stiff north wind that got stronger as the night went on turned the track dry slick.
The features began with the Pump N Pak Pure Stock main. Jordan Rawstern led from the start. There was a yellow on lap six when Wyatt Brooker and Aaron Holan tangled in turn two. Brooker restarted, but Holan went off on the hook. Rawstern led all the way when the race resumed with Jayden Michaelsohn, Mike Hammill, Curtis Johnson and Brooker rounding out the top five.
It was Jordan’s 14th feature win at the track, tying him with Curt Manning for third place on the Pure Stock win list.
The WISSOTA Street Stocks put on the race of the night with Broc Stout leading the first five laps before a restart, with Zach Pollock squeezing around Stout for the lead. With the white flag in the air Stout got by in turn four and won his 25th feature at the track over Pollock, Luke Johnson, Clifford Houser and Cole Phillips.
The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds got off to a tough start with a four car wreck in turn one on the first lap, involving Dylan Zabel, Tanner Grohs, Jayme Peterson and Britt Williams. Williams was able to restart, Grohs had to had to be pushed to the pits. Zabel and Peterson went off on the hook. On the restarting Cole Searing ran away from the pole position and led all the way over Lorin Johnson, Adam Brotherton, Brad Kopecky and Kyle Knouse. It was Searing’s second win in the Mid Mod class.
In the WISSOTA Modified main, Trevor Anderson took the lead on the start on the slick track and led all the way over Jayson Good, Kent Arment, Dale Ames and Ryan Damm. It was Trevor’s second feature win at the track.
The final race of the night was the WISSOTA Late Model feature with Kent Arment leading the first four laps before Chad Becker powered past and led the rest of the way over Arment, Josh Skorczewski, Curt Kranz and Dustin Arthur. It was Chad’s 10th feature win at the Miller Central Speedway.
Next week’s program will have a extra money race for tnhe Midwest Modifieds with $800 up for grabs for winning the feature. The WISSOTA Street Stocks will have the night off. Starting time, as always, is 7 p.m.

June 8 Results
WISSOTA Late Model main: 1. Chad Becker, Aberdeen 2. Kent Arment, Aberdeen 3. Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen 4. Curt Kranz, Watertown 5. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence DNF: Rich Thomas, Aberdeen; Justin Boomsma, Huron
Heat: Skorczewski, Becker, Kranz, Arment, Arthur, Boomsma, Thomas
WISSOTA Modified main: 1. Trevor Anderson, Watertown 2. Jayson Good, Watertown 3. Kent Arment, Aberdeen 4. Dale Ames, Huron 5. Ryan Damm, Watertown 6. Dylan Zabel, Selby DNF: Jesse Young, Warner
Heat: Arment, Good, Young, Anderson, Damm, Ames, Zabel
WISSOTA Super Stock main: 1. Cole Searing, Huron 2. Kipp DeGroot, Platte 3. Matt Johnson, Aberdeen DNF: Austin Arbogast, Huron
Heat: Searing, DeGroot, Arbogast, Johnson
WISSOTA Midwest Modified: 1. Cole Searing, Huron 2. Lorin Johnson, Miller 3. Adam Brotherton, Huron 4. Brad Kopecky, Miller 5. Kyle Knouse, Huron 6. David Carlson, Huron 7. Lane Johnson, Miller 8. James Reimer, Wessington Springs 9. Blake Meyer, Huron 10. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 11.  Cory Berquist, Huron 12. Scott Phillips, Huron 13. Spence Pollock, Orient 14. Shaun Cooper, Pierre 15. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt DNF: Jayme Peterson, Highmore; Tanner Grohs, Wessington Springs; Dawson Zabel, Selby
Heat 1: Peterson, Zabel, Carlson, Kopecky, Meyer, Williams
Heat 2: Searing, Brotherton, Berquist, Reimer, Pollock, Phillips
Heat 3: Knouse, Lo. Johnson, La. Johnson, Grohs, Rawstern, Cooper
WISSOTA Street Stock main: 1. Broc Stout, Winner 2. Zach Pollock, Miller 3. Luke Johnson, Miller 4. Clifford Houser, Kimall 5. Cole Phillips, Winner 6. Richard Hartland, Winner 7. Nicholas Green, Watertown 8. John Cable, Geddes 9. Travis Oxandaburu, Huron DNF: Jayden Bogh, Huron; Preston Blackwell, Miller
Heat 1: Blackwell, Pollock, Phillips, Hartland, Oxandaburu, Bogh
Heat 2: Stout, Johnson, Houser, Cable, Green
Pump N Pak Pure Stock main: 1. Jordan Rawstern, Blunt 2. Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen 3. Mike Hammill, Miller 4. Curtis Johnson, Miller 5. Wyatt Brooker, Tulare 6. Destrie Morris, Miller DNF: Jaida Sanderson, Aberdeen; Aaron Holan, Kimball
Heat: Michaelsohn, Hammill, Johnson, Rawstern, Sanderson, Brooker, Morris, Holan


Video News
More In Sports