Gruenhagen, Burke earn COTY honor

BROOKINGS — Jeff Gruenhagen of De Smet was selected as the Region 2 head boys’ basketball Coach of the Year by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

Gruenhagen guided the Bulldogs to a Class B state championship this season.

JJ Burke of Clark/Willow Lake was selected as the assistant girls’ Coach of the Year in Region 1.

Region 1 — David Rohrback of Aberdeen Christian (head boys); Derek Larson of Aberdeen Roncalli (head girls); Josh Mach of Aberdeen Central (assistant girls); JJ Burke of Clark/Willow Lake (assistant girls).

Region 2 — Jeff Gruenhagen of De Smet (head boys); Tim Koisti of Hamlin (head girls); Mark Harming of Elkton (assistant boys); Mitchell Brookes of Madison (assistant girls).

Region 3 — Byrce Hall of Potter County (head boys); Chase Casper of Faulkton and Mark Senftner of Sully Buttes (head girls); Brice Cunningham of Faulkton (assistant boys); Ryan Melius of Faulkton (assistant girls).

Region 4 — David Hollenbeck of St. Thomas More (head boys); Michael Brooks of Rapid City Sevens (head girls); Trey Frederick of Mobridge/Pollock (assistant boys); Jaime Bentley of Spearfish (assistant girls).

Regions 1-4 — Jesse Wittler of Sully Buttes (lower level boys); Wendy Rausch of Gettysburg/Hoven (lower level girls).

Region 5 — Mitch Begeman of Sioux Falls Roosevelt (head boys); Jamie Parish of Sioux Falls Washington (head girls); Michael Putman of Brandon Valley, Justin Sheppard of Sioux Falls Christian and Ryan Spader of Howard (assistant boys); Brook Begeman of Sioux Falls Christian (assistant girls).

Region 6 — Jay Drake of Vermillion (head boys); Tammy Lilly of Dakota Valley (head girls); David Preheim of Tea Area (assistant boys); Kristin Hason of Dakota Valley (assistant girls).

Region 7 — Todd Neuendorf of Mitchell (head boys); Cole Knippling of Mitchell (head girls); Steven Schoenhard of Chamberlain (assistant boys); Joe Shepardson of Parkston (assistant girls).

Region 8 — Paul Kelley of Custer (head boys); Jared Bouman of White River (head girls); Jamie Duprey of Hill City (assistant boys); Madison McLaughlin of Wall (assistant girls).

Regions 5-8 — Dean Jacobsen of Viborg-Hurley (lower level boys); Tera Koupal of Wagner (lower level girls).



Video News
More In Sports