Lady Vikings, Blackhawks claim 281 XC titles

COURTESY PHOTO James Valley Christian won the girls’ 281 Conference Cross Country title on the strength of the 1-2-2 finish by Rhayonna Hood, AbbyKate Hamilton, Abby Hasart.

WESSINGTON SPRINGS — The James Valley Lady Vikings swept the top three spots to take the girls’ crown at Wednesday’s 281 Conference Cross Country meet, held at the Wessington Springs Golf and Country Club, while the Sanborn Central-Woonsocket Blackhawks boys’ edged the home team for the boys’ championship.

SC-W put three runners in the top 10 to take the boys’ title with 13 team points and Wessington Springs finished one point back. Highmore-Harrold was third with 26 points and Iroquois-Doland had 38 points.

Daniel Ayoroa of James Valley Christian took medalist honors, finishing the course in 18:07.2, a two-minute cushion over AJ Neely of Wessington Springs. Jeff Boschee led the scoring for Sanborn Central-Woonsocket in third place and was joined in the top 10 by Noah Terkildsen in 6th and Braxton Gentles in 10th.

Wessington Springs was led by Neely’s second place finish, with teammate Sam Poncelow taking 7th, but the next Spartan finisher was in 11th place.

Other top 10 finishers included Sunshine Bible Academy’s Gage Davis in 4th, while Dawson Hale of Highmore Harrold with 5th. Hale’s teammate Carson Stephenson was 8th and JVC’s Jevin Goertz finished 9th.

Abby Hasart of JVC took the top honors in the girls’ race, finishing in a time of 22:21.8, leading teammates Rhayonna Hood and AbbyKate Hamilton across the line for a perfect score of 6 in the race. Wolsey-Wessington finished second in team points with 21 and Sanborn Central-Woonsocket was third with 27.

Kendal Uttecht of Wolsey-Wessington finished fifth, while teammate Timber Haeder was one place back and Lady Warbird Breana Ludemann was 10th.

Other top-10 finishers in the girls’ race included Hanna Terkildsen of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket in fourth, Cambree McNeil of Hitchcock-Tulare in 7th, Highmore-Harrold’s Maddie Knox in 8th and Payton Fox of Sunshine Bible in 9th.

281 Conference Cross Country

Team standings: 1, James Valley Christian, 6; 2, Wolsey-Wessington, 21; 3, Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, 27

1. Abby Hasart, JVC, 22:21.8
2. Rhayonna Hood, JVC, 23:12.9
3. Abby Kate Hamilton, JVC, 23:33.8
4. Hanna Terkildsen, SC/Woonsocket, 24:02.0
5. Kendal Uttecht, Wolsey/Wessington, 24:30.8
6. Timber Haeder, Wolsey/Wessington, 24:34.3
7. Cambree McNeil, Hitchcock/Tulare, 24:39.4
8. Maddie Knox, Highmore/Harrold, 25:11.1
9. Payton Fox, SBA, 25:12.7
10. Breana Ludemann, Wolsey/Wessington, 25:19.4
11. Trinity Boschee, SC/Woonsocket, 27:05.6
12. Shiara Noys, JVC, 27:44.3
13. Liz Boschee, SC/Woonsocket, 28:03.1
14. Emilie Lindgren, SC/Woonsocket, 28:23.5.

Team standings: 1, Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, 13, 2, Wessington Springs, 13; 3, Highmore-Harrold, 26; 4, Iroquois-Doland, 38.

1. Daniel Ayoroa, JVC, 18:07.5
2. AJ Neely, Wessington Springs, 20:09.4
3. Jeff Boschee, SC/Woonsocket, 20:41.2
4. Gage Davis, SBA, 21:04.3
5. Dawson Hale, Highmore/Harrold, 21:10.1
6. Noah Terkildsen, SC/Woonsocket, 21:17.1
7. Sam Poncelow, Wessington Springs, 21:36.0
8. Carson Stephenson, Highmore/Harrold, 21:36.6
9. Jevin Goertz, JVC, 22:04.0
10. Braxton Gentles, SC/Woonsocket, 22:36.2
11. Brock Krueger, Wessington Springs, 22:58.7
12. Bryton Converse, Highmore/Harrold, 23:10.8
13. Josiah Wiebe, Hitchcock/Tulare, 23:23.4
14. Carter LaMont, Highmore/Harrold, 23:44.2
15. Logan Pekron, Iroquois/Doland, 24:12.9
16. Michael Georges, SC/Woonsocket, 24:22.5
17. Tanner Christian, SC/Woonsocket, 24:42.7
18. Kaleb Cleveland, Wolsey/Wessington, 25:00.3
19. Dominic Froke, Iroquois/Doland, 25:46.2
20. Colton Nelson, Iroquois/Doland, 25:53.5.


Video News
More In Sports