Lady Warbirds land two on all-tourney team


HURON - The Wolsey-Wessington Lady Warbirds finished the season by placing two players on the All-Tournament team.

Leah Williams and Mallory Miller were selected to the team from the Lady Warbirds. Williams scored 50 points in the tourney, going 19-of-20 from the free throw line in the tournament. Miller also scored 50 points and led the tourney in rebounds with 38.

Mallory Valburg of Jones County was the Spirit of Su winner on Saturday.

Tournament champion Viborg-Hurley placed three members on the team. Denae Mach scored 62 points during the tournament, Estelle Lee dished out nine assists during the tourney, and Coral Mason secured 35 rebounds for the Cougars.

Runner-up Wall also placed three on the all-tourney team, led by the tournament’s leading scorer, Paige Kjerstad, who bucketed 63 points over the three days. Nora Dinger scored 54 points for the Lady Eagles and Rhea Tucker averaged 11 points and 11 rebounds over the three tournament games for the Lady Eagles.

The cheerleaders from Castlewood were the Spirit of Six winners at the Class B State Girls’ Basketball Tournament on Saturday at Huron Arena.

Also selected were Ethan’s Ava Lingemann (46 points, 10 assists during the tournament, Castlewood’s Madeline Horn (59 points), Jones County’s Mallory Valburg (46 points, 29 rebounds, 10 steals), and Howard’s Abby Aslesen (44 points, 33 rebounds).

Valburg was selected as the recipient of the Spirit of Su award winner. The Castlewood cheer squad won the Spirit of Six award.