Local CFEL chapter hosts spring meeting

COURTESY PHOTO Members of the Beadle County CFEL chapter were presented membership certificates at the recent Area IV meeting in Huron. From the left are: Theresa Horn, 50 years; Tootie Stahl, 45 years; Dianne Perry, 40 years; Lois Polfus, 35 years and Opal Houck, 30 years.

HURON — After skipping last year’s get together, the Area IV Community and Family Extension Leaders (CFEL) held its Spring Counil/Area IV CFEL meeting on Saturday, June 26, at the Huron Senior Center.
“Friendships Renewed,” was the theme for the day.

Theresa Horn, Beadle County President gave the greetings from Beadle County. Dianne Perry, Area IV President, call the meeting to order.

Deanne Ness, Busy Fingers President, and State Membership Chairman, led the Pledge of Allegiance, South Dakota State Pledge and CFEL Creed and Mission Statements.

Darleen Cuppy, Area IV Secretary read the minutes from the 2019 Area meeting and Theresa Horn read the Issues report.

Detective Derek Layher, Huron Police Department gave the Issues Program on Opioid Issues. He answered any questions from the members.

Alison Dennis, Area IV Director, gave Jerauld County its Gold Seal. She also recognized the members with their years of membership: Ellen Halter, 55 years: Theresa Horn, 50 years: Tootie Stahl, 45 years: Dianne Perry 45 years: Loir Polfus, 35 years: Vanessa Hoyer 35 years: Cheryl Moody, 30 years: Sandi Aldrich, 30 years: Opal Houck, 30 years.

The group enjoyed a delicious meal provided by Doug Stevens, while Dianne Perry and Pam Hainey provided music.

Carolyn Lembcke, and Lynette Spanbauer received the $50 scholarship to attend the state meeting in Mitchell, Sept. 24-25. They need to attend the whole convention to receive the scholarship at the banquet Saturday night. Diana Barton, and Sue Gose are the alternates.

There were 17 members from Beadle County, and two from Jerauld County.

Lois Polfus announced there were 85 Cultural Arts exhibits entered. These exhibits will be entered in the cultural arts contest at the state convention. 

The People’s Choice went to Lynn Daniels, and Lorene Cavigelli.

Jerauld County will no longer be a club after December of 2021. Lynette Spanbauer volunteered to take over the Area IV Secretary position.

Deanne Ness gave a report on the State convention that will be held in Mitchell on Sept. 24 and 25.



Video News
More In Community