On your mark, get set...go!

PHOTOS BY MIKE CARROLL / PLAINSMAN Participants splash into Ravine Lake for the start of the RavineMan Triathlon held Saturday.

HURON — Kevin Mitchell of Sioux Falls won the Olympic race during the RavineMan Triathlon, which was held Saturday.

The Olympic triathlon included a 1,500-meter swim, 24.4-mile bike ride and a 10K run.

Mitchell crossed the finish line at 2:05:47 to top the 10-participant field in the olympic event. Lance Bergeson of Hartford was second at 2:15:01.

There were a total of 29 participants in the sprint triathlon, which included a 750-meter swim, 12.2-mile bike ride and 5K run.

Teresa Van Hyfte of Hartford won the sprint triathlon in 1:16:52, while Peyton Bartsch of Minot, N.D., was second at 1:17:05.

Made the Cut won the team sprint event. Ethan Marquardt and Christian Small combined for a winning time of 1:14:23. Pickleball Warriors, which included Melissa Aughenbaugh, Monte Baltzer and Dustin Christianson, was second at 1:23:31.

Team Tide won the High School Challenge, earning $500 for the Riptide Swim team. Pierce Baumberger, Cora Hofer and, Hadesah Olson combined for a winning time of 1:13:16 over the sprint distance.

Trash Pandas, which was representing the Huron Hockey Association, was second at 1:37:26. Members of the team were Ian Larson, Max Radke and Emerson Sarvis.

Huron Regional Medical Center won the Corporate Cup title with a time of  1:19:00. Making up the team for the sprint triathlon were  Clay Kahre, Laurie Marcus and Justin Ward.

Richard Ford of New Haven, Conn., stands with Kim Rieger of Huron Regional Medical Center. Ford is on a quest to take part in a triathlon in each state.

Richard Ford of New Haven, Conn., made the stop in Huron to compete in the sprint RavineMan Triathlon. The 70-year-old, who opened the festivities on Saturday by singing the National Anthem, is in the midst of a journey to participate in a triathlon in each of the 50 states during a 3-year span.

The RavineMan was 36th state for Ford, whose next stop was Minnesota.

RavineMan Triathlon
July 29 in Huron, SD

• Sprint Triathlon — 1, Teresa Van Hyfte, Hartford, 1:16:52; 2, Peyton Bartsch, Minot, N.D., 1:17:05; 3, Kevin Friesner, Sioux Falls, 1:18:29; 4, Jory Wipf, Huron, 1:18:49; 5, Logan Long, Mitchell, 1:19:37; 6, Ethan Kinney, Sioux Falls, 1:20:28; 7, Luis Garcia, Sioux Falls, 1:20:00; 8, Marty Takagi, Mitchell, 1:21:57; 9, Dustin Schuur, Orange City, Iowa, 1:22:50; 10, Cameron Cutshaw, Huron, 1:23:06; 11, Julian Lancaster, Pierre, 1:24:40; 12, Erik Lohmann, Sioux Falls, 1:26:52; 13, Sarah Miner, Huron, 1:26:41; 14, Jessie Meyer, Jefferson; 1:27:15; 15, Connor Tuschen, Alexandria, 1:25:59; 16, Dustin Weber, Alexandria, 1:30:30; 17, Eric Milbrandt, Madison, 1:31:41; 18, Devon Tuschen, Mitchell, 1:30:01; 19, Heather Goehner, Huron, 1:32:08; 20, Rebecca Neugebauer, Huron, 1:36:57; 21, Rachel Schuur, Orange City, Iowa, 1:35:56; 22, Richard Ford, New Haven, Conn., 1:35:16; 23, Michael Digatono, Sioux Falls, 1:37:51; 24, Isaac Tuschen, Alexandria, 1:39:54; 25, Mark Farrell, Omaha, Neb., 1:42:12; 26, Ryan Bergeson, Mitchell, 1:45:22; 27, Corale Dorn, Dell Rapids, 1:48:17; 28, Elizabeth Shepard, Dutton, Ala., 1:49:50; 29, Mark Nelson, Mitchell, 2:00:09.

• Olympic Triathlon — 1, Kevin Mitchell, Sioux Falls, 2:05:47; 2, Lance Bergeson, Hartford, 2:15:01; 3, Brian Williams, Sioux Falls, 2:15:37; 4, Mandi Meredith, Rapid City, 2:24:24; 5, Carter Feltman, Rapid City, 2:25:58; 6, Shannan Nelson, Sioux Falls, 2:52:30; 7, Carol Nelson, Sioux Falls, 2:57:20; 8, Ryan Fowler, Pierre, 3:06:17; 9, Craig Mittendorf, Sioux Falls, 3:16:34; 10, Dylan Knight, Sioux Falls, 3:33:42.

• Team sprint — 1, Made the Cut (Ethan Marquardt, Christian Small) 1:14:23; 2, Pickleball Warriors (Melissa Aughenbaugh, Monte Baltzer, Dustin Christianson) 1:23:31; 3, Brute Squad (Jennifer Hodges, Bruce Jacobson) 1:44:39; 4, Middle School Primos (Kinsley Armstrong, Kasen Armstrong, Spencer Paloma) 1:35:46; 5, Team USA (Zach Heinen, Summer Jackson, Gabe Rieger) 1:39:43.

• High School Challenge — 1, Team Tide (Pierce Baumberger, Cora Hofer, Hadesah Olson) 1:13:16; 2, Trash Pandas (Ian Larson, Max Radke, Emerson Sarvis) 1:37:26.

• Corporate Cup — 1, HRMC (Clay Kahre, Laurie Marcus, Justin Ward) 1:19:00.