Racing continues at Miller Central Speedway

MILLER — Tonight’s races would have the make up late model feature from last week’s Big Dog race and another full night of racing for national points.
The WISSOTA late model Big Dog race was first, with 2018 late model champion Josh Skorczewski leading flag to flag in a non-stop 20-lapper over David McDonald, Chad Becker, Nick Grehl and Dustin Arthur. It was Josh’s seventh feature win at the Speedway.
The Pump N Pak pure stock field was shortened by the Toby Keith concert at the Fair, with Ferlin Sheridan leading all the way over Mike Hammill and Curtis Johnson. It was Ferlin’s third feature win at Miller.
In the WISSOTA street stock main, Jordan Kott led the first lap before Zach Pollock beat him out by a nose. Eventually 2018 Street champion Broc Stout came up to challenge for the lead. On lap nine he made his move on the inside of turn three, but overdrove and hit Zach and both cars spun. In the confusion Clifford Houser made hard contact with Pollock and both cars limped back to the pits for the night. Stout was charged with the yellow and had to go to the rear. This put Kott back in front on the restart. He led one lap before Trajan Schmidt, who was battling a low left front tire took over. Schmidt led until the last corner when he went wide, with Stout moving into the lead, but Schmidt came down on Broc and they came over the line spinning with Stout winning his 24th feature at the Miller Central Speedway. Schmidt was penalized 2 spots for the contact, so the official top five were Stout, Kott, Travis Oxandaburu, Schmidt and Richard Hartland.
The WISSOTA Midwest modifieds were next, with Mike Nichols leading the first lap. As they came around for lap 1, a car nearly spun off of turn four. Robert Harder slowed to avoid it, but Cory Berquist was behind Harder and ran over his right rear wheel and hit the frontstretch concrete hard. Berquist went off on the hook. On the restart Nichols ran away from the field, but The Dirt Doctor Lorin Johnson worked up to second but ran out of laps. It was Nichols’ first win at Miller. Nichols is a young phenom with wins at 7 different tracks in 3 states already. Dylan Zabel, Kyle Knouse and Scott Hansen rounded out the top five.
The WISSOTA modifieds were next, with Jayson Good leading first lap before giving way to David Carlson, who led through lap ten. Tyler McDonald came up to challenge Carlson, but dove in too deep in turn three and tangled and spun with Carlson. McDonald ended up backwards at the top of the track where he got hit head on by Kent Arment. McDonald limped to the pits while Arment went off on the hook. Carlson got his lead back, but David McDonald got the jump from third to first on the restart and ran away from Carlson for the win. The racing grandfathers were 1-2 followed by Alex Guthmiller, Good, and Dale Ames. Between them Dave and David had one son and 2 sons-in-law in the race behind them. It was Dave’s third Modified win at the track.
The WISSOTA super stock came out for a wild one. Casey Hanson led the first four laps until a caution for Kipp DeGroot. On the restart, Kelly Duffy shot from third to first, but behind him Hanson and Trevor Nelson tangled on the backstretch, with Hanson rolling once and ending up on top of Nelson’s car at the end of the backstretch. It took quite a while to get Hanson’s car off of Nelson’s, but both drivers were OK. Nelson was charged with the yellow but both cars are out.
Duffy led the next three laps on the restart before he went wide in turn four and gave way to Cole Searing. Two laps later he powered past Searing and retook the lead. With the white flag in the air, Searing got by Duffy again in turn four and held on to win over Duffy, Kip Myers, Caleb Yost and Chris Walker. It was Searing’s 39th Super Stock feature at Miller. He broke Lorin Johnon’s record for most wins in the class.
The WISSOTA late models were up last, with High School Senior Blair Nothdurft drawing the pole and running away with the race in a non-stop run. Eventually Chad Becker started to reel him in, but it took most of the race, with Becker finally grabbing the lead with four laps to go and his 10th feature at the Speedway over Nothdurft, David McDonald, Josh Skorczewski and Kent Arment.
Next week will be the last race of the season, giving the racers a last chance tune up before the WISSOTA 100 in two weeks at Fergus Falls. Dale announced that he is negotiating with a 360 Sprint group for a race next season. This week’s races will start at 7 p.m..

WISSOTA Late Model
Make up main: 1. Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen 2. David McDonald, Huron 3. Chad Becker, Aberdeen 4. Nick Grehl, Hitchcock 5. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence 6. Jordan Tollakson, Montevideo, Minneosta 7. Blair Nothdurft, Sioux Falls 8. Kelly Duffy, Winner 9. Tyler Lambert, Bath DNF: Brandon Moser, Aberdeen; Rich Thomas, Aberdeen; Roger Bitz, Aberdeen DNS: Brian Diede, Huron; Todd Fuersteneau, Watertown; Chad Olsen, Hendricks, MN
Saturday’s Main: 1. Becker 2. Nothdurft 3. McDonald 4. Skorczeweski 5. Kent Arment, Aberdeen 6. Curt Gelling, Aberdeen 7. Curt Kranz, Watertown 8. Arthur 9. Grehl 10. Paul Mueller, Bismarck, North Dakota 11. Duffy 12. Moser, 13. Lambert 14. Thomas DNF: Bitz DNS: Tollakson
Heat 1: Gelling, Kranz, Nothdurft, Tollakson, Mueller, Arthur, Bitz, Moser
Heat 2: Becker, McDonald, Skorczewski, Grehl, Lambert, Duffy, Thomas

WISSOTA Modified
Main: 1. David McDonald, Huron 2. David Carlson, Huron 3. Alex Guthmiller, Huron 4. Jayson Good, Watertown 5. Dale Ames, Huron 6. Jordan Foster, Henry 7. Ryan Nelson, Madison, MN 8. Lorin Johnson, Miller DNF: Kent Arment, Aberdeen; Tyler McDonald, Huron; Arne Anderson, Watertown
Heat 1: Foster, Arment, T. McDonald, Ames, Nelson, Johnson
Heat 2: Carlson, Guthmiller, D. McDonald, Good, Anderson

WISSOTA Super Stock
Main: 1. Cole Searing, Huron 2. Kelly Duffy, Winner 3. Kip Myers, Ethan 4. Caleb Yost, Miller 5. Chris Walker, Spearfish 6. Cody Martin, Mitchell 7. Austin Arbogast, Huron DNF: Jeremy North, Huron; Casey Hanson, Badger; Trevor Nelson, Warner; Kipp DeGroot, Platte
Heat 1: Searing, Duffy, DeGroot, Hanson, Martin, Yost
Heat 2: Nelson, Myers, North, Walker, Arbogast

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Main: 1. Mike Nichols, Watertown 2. Lorin Johnson, Miller 3. Dylan Zabel, Selby 4. Kyle Knouse, Huron 5. Scott Hansen, Garden City 6. Camden Myers, Ethan 7. Dawson Zabel, Selby 8. Terry Reilly, Watertown 9. Spence Pollock, Orient 10. Brandon Hoftiezer, Fort Pierre 11. James Reiner, Wessington Springs 12. Britt Willaims, Fort Pierre DNF: Robert Harder, Huron; Cory Berquist, Huron
Heat 1: Knouse, Nichols, Myers, Hansen, Da. Zabel, Pollock, Williams
Heat 2: Johnson, Dy. Zabel, Reilly, Reiner, Hoftiezer, Harder, Berquist

WISSOTA Street Stock
Main: 1. Broc Stout, Winner 2. Jordan Kott, Platte 3. Travis Oxandaburu, Huron 4. Trajan Schmidt, Watertown 5. Richard Hartland, Winner 6. Luke Johnson, Miller DNF: Clifford Houser, Kimball; Zach Pollock, Miller; James Hoing, Kimball
Heat: Houser, Pollock, Stout, Kott, Oxandaburu, Schmidt, Hoing, Johnson, Hartland

Pump N Pak Pure Stock
Main: 1. Ferlin Sheridan, Aberdeen 2. Mike Hammill, Miller 3. Curtis Johnson, Miller
Heat: Sheridan, Hammill, Johnson

Huron’s Jeremy North (20) battles Chris Walker of Spearfish for positiion during their WISSOTA super stock heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.


Video News
More In Sports