Rassel inks win during special event at MCS

ALLEN BECKER/CORNER 4 PHOTOGRAPHY Brenden Rassel of Woonsocket (48) passes Mike Hammill of Miller for the lead during the Pump-N-Pak pure stock feature race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

MILLER — It was the Pump-N-Pak pure stocks night to shine on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.
Brenden Rassel of Woonsocket recorded the feature in the pure stocks to pocket the extra cash that was on the line during the Jackie Hoftiezer Memorial Pure Stock Special.
After starting on the outside of the second row, Rassel made his way past Mike Hammill of Miller to take the lead and held on for the victory.
Scott Hoffer of Winner was second in the pure stock feature race, while Wyatt Brooker of Tulare was third. Hammill would finish fourth, followed by Destrie Morris of Miller to round out the top five in the 12-car field.
Jayden Michaelsohn of Aberdeen and Hammill earned wins in the pure stock heat races.
Broc Stout of Winner became the all-time wins leader in the WISSOTA street stock division at Miller Central Speedway with a victory in Saturday’s feature race.
Stout started eighth in the 10-car field, but capitalized a pair of caution flags to work his way to the front. Jodie Michaelsohn of Aberdeen would edge James Hoing of Kimball for the second spot.
Rounding out the top five were Cole Phillips of Winner and Domanick Havard of Wessington Springs.
Spence Pollock of Orient and Michaelsohn claimed wins in the street stock heat races.
A trio of Huron drivers claimed the top spots in the WISSOTA late model feature race.
David McDonald, who started on the outside of the front row, grabbed the lead at the start and never relinquished it en route to the victory in the 20-lap feature race.
Tailing McDonald across the finish line was his son Tyler, who challenged for the lead on the restart early in the race. Cole Searing, who started seventh was third.
Rounding out the top five in the late model main event were Josh Skorczewski of Aberdeen and David Carlson of Huron. With a sixth-place finish, Justin Boomsma gave Huron drivers five of the top six spots.
Curt Kranz of Watertown and Skorczewski won the late model heat races.
Tommy Nichols of Watertown secured the win in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified main event, but had plenty of pressure from Jayme Peterson of Highmore and Adam Brotherton of Huron, who were second and third, respectively.
Cory Berquist of Huron was fourth in the 16-car field, followed by Brad Kopecky of Miller.
Heat wins in the Midwest modified division went to James Reiner of Wessington Springs, Nichols and Mike Rohwedder of Aberdeen.
Jayson Good of Watertown secured the win in the WISSOTA modified main event. Dale Ames of Huron, who was seeking his second win in as many weeks, was second, followed by Ryan Damm of Watertown.
Rounding out the top five in the modified feature were Nick Wranek of Harrisburg and Mike Stearns of Hecla.
Good also won the lone modified heat race.
Kelly Duffy of Winner came from the fourth starting spot to win the WISSOTA super stock feature race. He tracked down early leader Casey Hanson of Badger to secure the win.
Hanson would finish second, while Taylor Schmidt of Bath was third. Kipp DeGroot of Platte was fourth and Jeremy North of Huron was fifth.
Duffy also emerged with the top spot in the lone super stock heat race.
Racing will continue at Miller Central Speedway on Saturday at 7 p.m., with a Midwest modified special. All classes will be in action.

Pump-N-Pak Pure Stock
Heat 1: 1, Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 2, Damon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre; 3, Brenden Rassel, Woonsocket; 4, Trevor Ryan, Highmore; 5, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare; 6, Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller.
Heat 2: 1, Mike Hammill, Miller; 2, Destrie Morris, Miller; 3, Scott Hoffer, Winner; 4, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 5, Bruce Scott, Pierre; 6, Aaron Holan, Kimball.
Main event: 1, Rassel; 2, Hoffer; 3, Brooker; 4, Hammill; 5, Morris; 6, Ryan; 7, Scott; 8, Kopecky; (did not finish) 9, Michaelsohn; 10, Holan; 11, Hoftiezer; 12, Songer.
WISSOTA Street Stock
Heat 1: 1, Spence Pollock, Orient; 2, Clifford Houser, Kimball; 3, James Hoing, Kimball; 4, Brandon Hammill, Miller; 5, John Cable, Geddes.
Heat 2: 1, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 2, Broc Stout, Winner; 3, Cole Phillips, Winner; 4, Domanick Havard, Wessington Springs; (did not finish) 5, Travis Oxandaburu, Huron.
Main event: 1, Stout; 2, Michaelsohn; 3, Hoing; 4, Phillips; 5, Havard; 6, Houser; 7, Cable; 8, Hammill; (did not finish) 9, Pollock; 10, Oxandaburu.
WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Heat 1: 1, James Reiner, Wessington Springs; 2, Britt Williams, Ft. Pierre; 3, Jason Goldammer, Huron; 4, Blake Meyer, Huron; (did not finish) 5, Devon Carroll, Huron; (did not start) Robert Harder, Huron.
Heat 2: 1, Tommy Nichols, Watertown; 2, Brandon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre; 3, Jayme Peterson, Highmore; 4, Brad Kopecky, Miler; 5, Tanner Grohs, Wessington Springs; (did not finish) 6, Jeff Rawstern, Blunt.
Heat 3: 1, Mike Rohwedder, Aberdeen; 2, Adam Brotherton, Huron; 3, Cory Berquist, Huron; 4, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 5, Chad Kopfmann, Alpena.
Main event: 1, Nichols; 2, Peterson; 3, Brotherton; 4, Berquist; 5, Kopecky; 6, Meyer; 7, Hoftiezer; 8, Kopfmann; 9, Rawstern; 10, Harder; 11, Goldammer; (did not finish) 12, Williams; 13, Reiner; 14, Grehl; 15, Rohwedder; (did not start) Carroll; (disqualified) Grohs.
WISSOTA Modified
Heat 1: Jayson Good, Watertown; 2, Ryan Damm, Watertown; 3, Dale Ames, Huron; 4, Mike Stearns, Hecla; 5, Tyler Anglin, Aberdeen; 6, Nick Wranek, Harrisburg; 7, Arne Anderson, Watertown; 8, Eric Cease, Frederick; 9, James Hanley, Cresbard.
Main event: 1, Good; 2, Ames; 3, Damm; 4, Wranek; 5, Stearns; 6, Anderson; 7, Cease; (did not finish) 8, Anglin; (did not start) Hanley.
WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 2, Jeremy North, Huron; 3, Kipp DeGroot, Platte; 4, Cody Martin, Mitchell; 5, Casey Hanson, Badger; 6, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 7, Taylor Schmidt, Bath; (did not finish) 8, Caleb Yost, Miller.  
Main event: 1, Duffy; 2, Hanson; 3, Schmidt; 4, DeGroot; 5, North; 6, Yost; (did not finish) 7, Martin; 8, Nelson.
WISSOTA Late Models
Heat 1: 1, Curt Kranz, Watertown; 2, Tyler McDonald, Huron; 3, David Carlson, Huron; 4, David McDonald, Huron; 5, Mike Jager, Gettysburg; (did not finish) 6, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen.
Heat 2: 1, Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen; 2, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 3, Cole Searing, Huron; 4, Justin Boomsma, Huron; 5, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence.
Main event: 1, D. McDonald; 2, T. McDonald; 3, Searing; 4, Skorczewski; 5, Carlson; 6, Boomsma; 7, Arthur; 8, Kranz; (did not finish) 9, Becker; 10, Thomas; (did not start) Jager.


Video News
More In Sports