S.D. Cattlemen’s Foundation 2019 scholarship recipients

On the left is Logan Wolter, and on the right is Cutler Michalski

DE SMET — Members of the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation recently invited students throughout South Dakota to apply for its scholarship program, which they launched in 2016.
This scholarship program was established by the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation to identify and reward youth who have demonstrated a sincere interest in the growth of the beef industry in South Dakota. Funds raised at the annual Prime Time Gala & Concert funds these scholarships.
Scholarship recipients from this region include Cutler Michalski of Willow Lake, and Logan Wolter of Wessington Springs.
These individuals were selected based on their active participation and interest in the development of their communities and the South Dakota beef industry. All are also currently enrolled in a post-secondary institution in South Dakota. Scholarships of $5,000 $4,000, $3,000, $2,000, $1,000 will be awarded to these five students and the amounts will be announced the evening of the Prime Time Gala.
The South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation joined forces with Feeding South Dakota in May 2013 to create a signature event, Prime Time Gala & Concert, that raises critical funds for its mission by providing more beef to food insecure families throughout the state. Funds raised from the Prime Time Gala & Concert also support the scholarship program that provides $15,000 in funding to students throughout South Dakota.
The South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation will host its sixth annual Prime Time Gala & Concert on Saturday, June 22, at the Sioux Falls Convention Center with a country music concert featuring Jake Owen and Jerrod Niemann at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center.
Since hosting the first event in June 2014, the South Dakota Cattlemen’s Foundation has raised over $966,110 for Feeding South Dakota. This amount has allowed Feeding South Dakota to purchase and distribute 789,114 pounds of beef throughout all 66 counties in South Dakota.