Searing claims Midwest Modified special event

ALLEN BECKER COURTESY PHOTO Racing action was hot and heavy Saturday night in Miller, as these six WISSOTA Midwest Modified cars fight for position.

MILLER — A beautiful week was capped off by a perfect Saturday night for racing at the Miller Central Speedway.
The evening was sponsored by Nelson HB Seed and  62 cars were registered in the pits. The candy scramble was sponsored by Rexall Drug. With the extra money on the line for the Midwest Modifieds, the Street Stocks had the night off.
The main events started off with the Pump N Pak Pure Stocks. Mike Hammill led the first two laps before Jayden Michaelsohn swept past and led the rest of the way over Curtis Johnson, Trevor Ryan, Jordan Rawstern and Hamill. It was Jayden’s first feature win at the Miller Central Speedway.
The WISSOTA Modifieds were next. On the first lap Nick Wranek, Mike Stearns and Ryan Damm tangled in turn one on the first lap. Wranek ended up on his lid and was done for the night, while Stearns and Damm restarted at the rear after changing flat tires. Trevor Anderson led on the restart and led the first nine laps until Alex Guthmiller ran him down and led the rest of the way over Stearns, Anderson, Damm and Jayson Good. It was Alex’s eighth feature win at the speedway.
The WISSOTA Super Stock main was led by Kipp DeGroot for two laps until Taylor Schmidt went by for a runaway win over DeGroot, Kip Myers, Jeremy North and Tyler Anglin. It was Taylor’s fifth feature win at the track.
The WISSOTA Late Models didn’t got out last because of the extra-money, extra-distance Mid Mod feature. Two time track champion Josh Skorczewski led the first five laps before Chad Becker grabbed the lead and won over Skorczewski, Mike Stearns, Dustin Arthur and Craig Rodgers. It was Chad’s  11th feature win in the class, tying him with Dennis Gross for 4th on the all-time win list.
Then the Grand Finale, the 20 lap $800 to win WISSOTA Midwest Modified special. Super Stock point leader Cole Searing had blown an engine in his heat race, but his luck went the other way on the Mid Mod re-draw as he drew outside pole and beat Matt Heinzerling into turn one and never looked back winning over Kyle Knouse, David Carlson, Adam Brotherton and Brad Kopecky. It was Cole’s third feature win in the class.
Next week will be a regular weekly race with all six divisions competing.
Starting time is 7 p.m.

Miller Central Speedway
June 15 Program
WISSOTA Late Model main: 1. Chad Becker, Aberdeen 2. Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen 3. Mike Stearns, Hecla 4. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence 5. Craig Rodgers, Gillette, Wyoming 6. Tyler Reagle, Valentine, Nebraska DNF: Rich Thomas, Aberdeen DNS: Justin Karlen, Howard
Heat: Becker, Skorczewski, Reagle, Arthur, Stearns, Rodgers, Thomas, Karlen
WISSOTA Modified main: 1. Alex Guthmiller, Huron 2. Mike Stearns, Hecla 3. Trevor Anderson, Watertown 4. Ryan Damm, Watertown 5. Jayson Good, Watertown 6. Dale Ames, Huron DNF: Arne Anderson, Watertown; Nick Wranek, Harrisburg DNS: Dylan Zabel, Selby
Heat: Wranek, T. Anderson, Guthmiller, Stearns, Ames, Good, Damm, A. Anderson, Zabel
WISSOTA Super Stock main: 1. Taylor Schmidt, Bath 2. Kipp DeGroot, Platte 3. Kip Myers, Ethan 4. Jeremy North, Huron 5. Tyler Anglin, Aberdeen 6. Cody Martin, Mitchell 7. Caleb Yost, Miller 8. Dale Tomes, Dell Rapids 9. Matt Johnson, Aberdeen DNF: Casey Hanson, Badger; Robin Schmitt, Redfield; Austin Arbogast, Huron DNS: Corey Elward, Mitchell; Cole Searing, Huron
Heat 1: Myers, Elward, DeGroot, Anglin, Arbogast, Johnson, Searing
Heat 2: North, Hanson, Schmidt, Yost, Martin, Tomes, Schmitt
WISSOTA Midwest Modified main: 1. Cole Searing, Huron 2. Kyle Knouse, Huron 3. David Carlson, Huron 4. Adam Brotherton, Huron 5. Brad Kopecky, Miller 6. Lorin Johnson, Miller 7. Cory Berquist, Huron 8. Dawson Zabel, Selby 9. James Reimer, Wessington Springs 10. Matt Heinzerling, Spearfish 11. Connor Friske, Rapid City 12. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 13. Brandon Hoftiezer, Fort Pierre 14. Nathan Jager, Aberdeen 15. Robert Harder, Huron 16. Chad Kopfmann, Alpena 17. Tanner Grohs, Wessington Springs 18. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt 19. Scott Phillips, Huron DNF: Tyler Myers, Alexandria; Blake Meyer, Huron; Michael Bogh, Huron DNS: Devon Carroll, Huron
Heat 1: Knouse, Zabel, Carlson, Berquist, Meyer, Friske, Williams, Harder
Heat 2: Kopecky, Johnson, Heinzerling, Grohs, Hoftiezer, Kopfmann, Jager, Carroll
Heat 3: Searing, Reimer, Brotherton, Myers, Phillips, Rawstern, Bogh
Pump N Pak Pure Stock main: 1. Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen 2. Curtis Johnson, Miller 3. Trevor Ryan Highmore 4. Jordan Rawstern, Blunt 5. Jaida Sanderson, Aberdeen 6. Destrie Morris, Miller 7. Mike Hammill, Miller DNS: Wyatt Brooker, Tulare
Heat: Hammill, Michaelsohn, Johnson, Rawstern, Morris, Ryan, Sanderson, Brooker


Video News
More In Sports