State 4-H announces 2022 Shooting Sports scholarship recipients

BROOKINGS — The South Dakota 4-H Shooting Sports Committee awarded six scholarships to youth in the South Dakota 4-H Shooting Sports program.

Scholarship recipients are selected by a group of volunteers who review the applications, and recipients are selected based on scholastic achievement, character, 4-H Shooting Sports involvement and financial need.

Among the recipients of this year’s scholarships is Dilyn Brooks from Woonsocket.

Brooks attended Woonsocket High School and plans to pursue a degree in livestock production and management at Lake Area Technical College. She has been a member of South Dakota 4-H Shooting Sports for 10 years. Brooks attended the 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships for air rifle in 2021 and placed fifth as an individual. She was also part of the third place 3-position small bore rifle team at the 2022 National Championships.

Scholarship applications are due to the State 4-H Office by April 1 of each year. Application instructions for the upcoming 4-H Scholarships can be found on the SDSU Extension website.

For more information about 4-H Shooting Sports scholarships, contact Rachel Chamblin, 4-H Program Assistant, at 605-688-4167 or [email protected] Scholarships are funded through entrance fees paid at the state competition.


More In Community