Stevens, Moody win titles at SDHSRA State Finals

COURTESY OF MEGAN MILLER Layni Stevens of St. Lawrence competes in the girls’ cutting event during the South Dakota High School Rodeo Association State Finals Rodeo, which concluded Saturday at Ft. Pierre.

FT. PIERRE — Layni Stevens of St. Lawrence and Mason Moody of Letcher won titles during the South Dakota High School Rodeo Association State Finals Rodeo on Saturday.

Stevens claimed the championship in the girls’ cutting. She was also five in breakaway roping; seventh in reined cow horse; seventh in goat tying; and 11th in team roping.

With three qualified rides, Moody won the bull riding championship. He was also 43rd in team roping.

Colt Dunkelberger of Huron was fifth in steer wrestling, while Devin Hunter of Huron and Tierney Breen of Woonsocket were sixth and ninth, respectively, in goat tying.

Shyann Marzahn of Redfield was sixth in pole bending and Tate Meyer of Huron was eighth in bull riding.

South Dakota High School Rodeo Association State Finals Rodeo
June 18 in Fort Pierre

(winners and area participants)

Bareback — 1, Lucas Yellow Hawk, Blunt; 11, Payton Tobin, Wessington Springs.
Barrel racing — 1, Piper Cordes, Wall; 14, Raylee Fagerhaug, Wessington Springs; 27, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 28, Callie Aamot, De Smet; 39, Dale Forman, Ree Heights; 53, Tierney Breen, Woonsocket; 57, Hannah Heezen, Wessington Springs; 61, Shyann Marzahn, Redfield.
Breakaway roping — 1, Charlie Henwood, Belle Fourche; 5, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 15, Tierney Breen, Woonsocket; 22, Tyra Gates, Miller; 24, Paige Marzahn, Redfield; 46, Teya Moody, Woonsocket; 57, Jazz McGirr, Huron.
Bull riding — 1, Mason Moody, Letcher; 8, Tate Meyer, Huron; 18, Ryder Rowland, Harrold.
Boys’ cutting — 1, Rance Bowden, Belle Fourche.
Goat tying — 1, Brylee Grubb, Spearfish; 6, Devin Hunter, Huron; 7, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 9, Tierney Breen, Woonsocket; 14, Tyra Gates, Miller; 16, Raylee Fagerhaug, Wessington Springs; 26, Dale Forman, Ree Heights; 35, Jazz McGirr, Huron; 51, Paigh Marzahn, Redfield.
Girls’ cutting — 1, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 12, Victoriah Buffington, Huron; 14, Kayeleigh Bowden, Huron.
Pole bending — 1, Tommie Martin, Hayes; 6, Shyann Marzahn, Redfield; 15, Callie Aamot, De Smet; 17, Raylee Fagerhaug, Wessington Springs; 27, Tyra Gates, Miller; 38, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 54, Hannah Heezen, Wessington Springs; 55, Paige Marzahn, Redfield; 67, Dale Forman, Ree Heights.
Reined cow horse — 1, Dallie Lawrence, Alzada, Mont.; 7, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 10, Victoriah Buffington, Huron; 16, Bailey Feistner, Woonsocket.
Saddle bronc — 1, Traylin Martin, Faith; 5, Colt Dunkelberger, Huron; 20, Grady Aasby, Highmore; 30, Tevin Cowan, Harrold.
Team roping — 1, Tate Johnson, Sisseton; 11, Layni Stevens, St. Lawrence; 25, Trey Moody, Woonsocket; 43, Mason Moody, Letcher; 73, Chase Frericks, Frankfort; 74, Burke Williams, Redfield; 93, Coby Aasby, Highmore; 94, Grady Aasby, Highmore; 127, Raylee Fagerhaug, Wessington Springs; 129, Tyler Esser, Frankfort.
Tiedown — 1, Rance Bowden, Belle Fourche; 13, Mason Moody, Letcher; 17, Tate Hoffman, Highmore; 41, Grady Aasby, Highmore; 48, Tevin Cowan, Harrold; 50, Coby Aasby, Highmore; 51, Tyler Esser, Frankfort; 66, Tegan Marzahn, Redfield.


More In Sports