Winter storm watch issued

SIOUX FALLS — The National Weather Service in Sioux Falls has issued a Winter Storm Watch for portions of eastern South Dakota and western Minnesota, beginning Friday night and continuing through Monday.
Counties affected in South Dakota include: Sanborn, Brookings, Kingsbury, Lincoln, Lyon, McCook, Miner, Hanson, Beadle and Lake.
Heavy mixed precipitation is expected with total snow accumulations of six to 12 inches, and ice of between one-tenth and two-tenths of an inch.
The highest snow amounts will be in central South Dakota and wind gusts could be as high as 35 miles per hour Saturday night and Sunday.
Travel could be very difficult to impossible, as patchy blowing snow could significantly reduce visibility.
Travelers should monitor the latest forecasts for updates on this situation and take appropriate precautions.


More In News