State Oral Interp Festival awards superiors


HARRISBURG — James Valley Christian School’s Oral Interpretation team brought home the Team Excellence Award after winning five Superiors including one Superior with Distinction at the State Festival in Harrisburg Dec. 1-2.

Members of the Huron Reader’s Theater team are, from left, Antony Sorto, Lily Halter, Tessa Gogolin, and Cameron Cutshaw.

Also capturing Team Excellence Awards were Laura Iverson and Ben Halbkat, Huron; and Lacey Holt, De Smet.

Members of Huron’s Duet team are, from left, Mylie Byrd and Samantha Swanson.

Superior awards were presented to:
• Storytelling: Hope Mendel, Superior with Distinction (meaning all three judges gave her a perfect score).
• Reader’s Theater: Alexandra Hohm, Elaina Hohm, Emily Schutt, Jonathan Koel and Hope Mendel, JVC; and Willem Lim, Payton Botkin and Samuel Gigov of De Smet; and Lily Halter, Antony Sorto, Cameron Cutshaw and Tessa Gogolin, Huron.
• Duet Interpretation: Andee Frandsen and Belle Niederbaumer, JVC; and Samantha Swanson and Mylie Byrd, Huron.
• Non-Original Oratory: Khunnaphat Muapae of Huron; Gabriella Werdel, Miller; and Reganne Miles, Doland.
• Serious Reading: Andee Frandsen, JVC; and Cameron Cutshaw of Huron.

• Humorous Reading: Elaina Hohm, JVC; Tessa Gogolin, Huron; and Emilie Lindgren, Woonsocket.
• Poetry Reading: Lily Halter, Huron; and William Lim, De Smet.

Khunnaphat Muepae, Huron, Non-Original Oratory.