'#BeTuffDontPuff' is a winner

Courtesy photo Members of the Huron High School Health Occupation Students of America club ‘flex’ in recognition of their winning entry in a statewide anti-vaping hashtag campaign. In the front, from the left are: Tatum Peterson, Kristen Janes and Chloe Culver. In the back are Hamtyn Heinz, Gracie Culver, Paw Kler Moo and Win Ni.

HURON — The Huron Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA)  club had its anti-vaping hashtag entry selected for a statewide award.

“#BeTuffDontpuff,” was the entry submitted by the Huron students, according to Mindy Heuer, the project manager for the Tobacco Disparities Grant, administered by the S.D. Foundation for Medical Care. The goal is to reduce tobacco use and vaping among youth in South Dakota.

“We decided to run a fun contest to get high school students involved,” said Heuer.  “We know youth are active on social media, so we had students submit ideas for a hashtag that could be used on anti-vaping campaigns. It was youth creating messaging for youth. The entries were just incredible! South Dakota students are not just creative, but they genuinely care about improving their communities.”

The winning entry will be used statewide, and the school received a prize of $250.

When asked how they picked the winning hashtag entry, the students commented that “smoking and vaping makes your body weak, so we wanted to be tough, and it rhymed.”