Girls’ State, Boys’ State delegates named

Selected high school students from across South Dakota will be attending Girls’ State in Vermillion and Boys’ State in Aberdeen, both from May 29-June 3.
More than 400 young women from across the state will attend the 2017 edition of Girls’ State, hosted by the University of South Dakota in Vermillion and sponsored by the American Legion Auxiliary of South Dakota.
Among the 413 delegates attending this year’s event are the following Heartland-area students:
Taylor Ashdown, Samantha Hoffman and Zoe Tvedt from Highmore-Harrold High School; Nicole Berg, Kamila Buchholz, Makayla DeDeyne, Jordynn Gehm, Katelynn Gehm, Madisyn Miller and Sydnee Winter from De Smet High School; Ally Binger and Bailey Cole from Hitchcock-Tulare High School; Ashlynn Burke from Willow Lake High School; Allie Diehl and Kiana Simons from Iroquois High School; Alexandria Thomas and Karli Paulson from Clark High Schools; Ashleigh Fry from Woonsocket High School; Ellie Larson and Cadee Schelske from Wessington Springs High School;  Claire Gillette and Dusty Miner from Redfield High School; Kaili Wilson from Miller High School; Quincee Goeller, Caitlyn McNeil and Kama Paw from Huron High School; Bridget Lovelace from Doland High School; and Citlali Reyes and Taylor Sprecher from Wolsey-Wessington High School.

More than 300 Boys’ State delegates will take part in this year’s event on the Northern State University campus in Aberdeen.
Several Heartland-area students will attend Boys’ State, which is sponsored by the S.D. American Legion.
Local young men participating include Jacob Bich from Cavour; Keith Myrvold, Mekel Sahchez, Bradyn Rusher and Brock Shult of Clark; Caleb Rusmussen of Doland; Weston Baysinger from Forestburg; Thomas Semmler from Highmore; Anthony Anderson and Caileb Wanner from Hitchcock; Gavin Machtemes of Iroquois; Jesus Apodaca and Koby Larson from Letcher; Cambden Breitling and Caleb DeBoer from Miller; Brexton Roth from Redfield; Jaron Waters, Tyler Trujillo, Chanze Powell and Travis Kleinsasser of Huron; Zach Mulder and Wyatt Burke of Willow Lake; Matthew Larsen of Wolsey; along with Nathan Linke, Clayton Dornbusch and Trance Schooler of Woonsocket.