School district recognizes staff and administrators at annual banquet

COURTESY PHOTO Pictured are award winners in the Huron School District, presented recently at the 33rd Awards Banquet. From the left are: Elementary Teacher of the Year Lynn Hanten (3rd grade at Madison 2-3); Rita Baszler, Support Staff of the Year (School Nurse at Madison 2-3); Hezekiah Moo, Co-Classified Employee of the Year; Leah Branaugh, Middle School Teacher of the Year; Jennifer Fuchs, High School Teacher of the Year and Gina Gabriel, Co-Classified Employee of the Year.

HURON — The Huron School District held its 33rd annual Employee Recognition Banquet, at the Huron Event Center on May 12.

Many employees were recognized for meritorious service, special awards, and “Employees of the Year.” The night ended with honoring the retirees in the district.

The following teachers were recognized for their years of service to the district.

Five years:
Peggy Harkness, Myranda Holtrop, David Jensen, Kelby Johnson, Trisha Jons, Cassidee King, Jolene Konechne, Halima Kringen, Mia Kruse, Raleigh Larson, Joyce Maras, Steven Martens, Mary Moe, Michelle Moeding, Hezekiah Moo, Henry Morales, Nicholle Mudge, Beth Neitzert, Ashley Neuharth, Breanne Olsen, Maria Ptak, Vicki Ranney, Rhonda Ransom, Terry Regnier, Wesley Rennich, Zachary Retzer, Jessica Skorheim, Tracey Steele, Dru Strand, Wah Ka Paw Thein, Licia Wallace, Charlie Warner, Kristin Wheeler and Tori White.

10 Years:
Tamera Barnes, Dave Corcoran, McKenzie Gill, Duane Hanson, Abby Johnson, Kristine Kattner, Michael Radke, Dale Schoemaker, Rebecca Stoddard, Dianne Tapken, Angela Thomas, Abby Vaillancourt, Amy Velthoff and Carolyn Westby.

15 Years:
Ginger Brake, Brooke Cunard, Sharon Engelhart, Karen Ford, Timothy Hedblom, Michelle Hotchkiss, Erv Huber, Adele Van Zee, Laura Willemssen and Cynthia Willams.

20 Years:
April Ahlers, Dawn Marshall and Charlene Polsean.

25 Years:
Linda Eck, Kari Hinker and Michael Postma.

30 Years: Staci DesLauriers, Peggy Podhradsky, Julie King and Terry Rotert.

35 Years:
Debbie Henning, Lona Moser, Barbara Myhre and Jodi Walter.

40 Years:
Barbara Nicholas

Special Recognition was given to those staff receiving special awards throughout the year.
• Rita Baszler: Nationally Certified School Nurse
• Shelly Buddenhagen: Volleyball Coaches Association Region 6 Coach of the Year and SD High School Coaches Association Volleyball Coach of the Year.
• Terry Nebelsick: 2020 South Dakota Superintendent of the Year, Appointed to State Board of Educational Standards and Huron Chamber and Visitors Bureau Distinguished Civic Service Award.
• Barb Nicholas: SD Region 3 Teacher of the Year and Finalist for SD Teacher of the Year.
• Amy Schoenfelder: America Legion Teacher of the Year Post 7.
TyAnn Ulmer: “AA” Volleyball Assistant Coach of the Year.
• Huron School District #2-2: Mayor’s Award of Excellence

The Classified Employees of the Year for 2021 were Hezekiah Moo and Gina Gabriel.

Hezekiah is an ESL para at Huron High School, while Gina works maintenance for Buildings and Grounds.

Also recognized was the 2021 Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year Rita Baszler.

Rita is the school nurse at Madison 2/3 Center and accepted the award on behalf of all the school nurses and all the hard work they have done the past year and all years to keep everyone safe.

Three teachers were named 2021 Teachers of the Year: Lynne Hanten, Leah Branaugh, and Jennifer Fuchs. Lynne is a 3rd grade teacher at Madison 2/3 Center, Leah is a math teacher at Huron Middle School and Jennifer is a science teacher at Huron High School.

Special recognition was given to David Wheeler for his years served on the Huron School Board and then the night ended with recognition of the district’s retirees.

Retirees include:
Ann Blondheim, 4 Years, Washington 4-5 Center; Teacher
David Jensen, 5 Years, Huron Colony Para-Educator;
Rita Schulz, 6 Years, Curriculum Office Administrative Assistant; Cindy Eckmann, 7 Years, Transportation Administrative Assistant; Colleen Jensen, 9 Years, Huron Colony Teacher;
Lois Dorris, 9 1⁄2 Years, Buchanan K-1 Center School Nutrition; Jean A. Wolff, 20 Years, Middle School Nutrition;
Linda Eck, 25 Years, School Home Liaison;
Sharla Mees, 27 Years, Madison 2-3 Center Teacher;
Julie Zell, 27 Years, Washington 2-3 Center Teacher;
Kathy Engst, 28 Years, High School Teacher;
Lisa Sargent, 28 Years, Transportation Bus Driver;
Jeanne Olson, 32 Years, Our Home Teacher;
Jodi Walter, 35 Years, SLPA.

The last retiree recognized was Superintendent Terry Nebelsick. Terry will be leaving the Huron School District after 27 years.

He started as the High School Principal and then served us as our Superintendent.

To honor Terry, a representative from the S.D. Department of Education was present to read a proclamation from Governor Kristi Noem that June 30, 2021 in South Dakota will be “Terry Nebelsick Day.”