Tigers finish seventh at ESD tennis tournament


COURTESY PHOTOS Above: Ann Hoek returns a shot in singles competition. Below: Lizzy Heinen follows through on a return during doubles play.

MITCHELL — The Huron girls’ tennis team closed the regular season with a seventh-place finish in the Eastern South Dakota Conference Tournament on Tuesday at Hitchcock Park.

Watertown, which won two singles titles and a doubles title, was the ESD champion with 282 points. Aberdeen Central was second at 255, followed by Pierre at 214.5, Mitchell at 164.5 and Yankton at 164.

Rounding out the field of teams were Brandon Valley at 135.5, Huron at 55.5, Harrisburg at 18.5 and Brookings at 0.

“The girls played great,” Huron coach Rachel Kary said.

Senior Say Ma was the top finisher for the Tigers. She finished second in fifth flight singles.

Ma opened the tournament with a 10-4 win against Adison Bohy of Harrisburg and then recorded a 10-5 win against Teya Badger of Brandon Valley to reach the championship match.

Top-seeded Faith Berg of Watertown handed Ma a 10-5 setback in the title match.

All three of Huron’s doubles teams reached the consolation championship match.

Ma and Ann Hoek at No. 3 were the only team to come away with a consolation title for the Tigers.

After being edged 10-7 by Jocelyn Corrales and Caitlin Ott of Pierre in the opening round, Ma and Hoek rebounded to win 8-7 (2) against Evelyne Lima-Zapon and Kara Korener of Yankton in the consolation semfinals.

Ma and Hoek needed another tiebreaker to win 8-7 (6) against Berg and Sophia Nichols of Pierre in the consolation championship.

Huron will close the season at the Class A State Tournament, which is scheduled for Oct. 3-4 in Rapid City.

Eastern South Dakota Conference Tournament
Sept. 27 in Mitchell

Team scores: 1, Watertown 282; 2, Aberdeen Central 255; 3, Pierre 214.5; 4, Mitchell 164.5; 5, Yankton 164; 6, Brandon Valley 135.5; 7, Huron 55.5; 8, Harrisburg 18.5; 9, Brookings 0.

Huron results


First flight
First round: Nora Krajewski, Y, def. AnneClaire Rubish, H, 10-4
Consolation semifinals: Mckenzie Vickery, HA, def. Rubish, 8-2

Second flight
Play-in: Sophie Tanner, B, def. Lizzy Heinen, H, 10-7

Third flight
First round: Marlee Shorter, P, def. Bianca Medina, H, 10-5
Consolation semifinals: Medina, H, def. Paige Mitzel, Y, default
Consolation finals: Carly Comstock, AC, def. Medina, H, 8-5

Fourth flight
Play-in: Beth Engelhart, H, def. Brea Tonsager, B, 10-1
First round: Jocelyn Corrales, P, def. Engelhart, H, 10-4
Consolation semifinals: Engelhart, H, def. Claire Siverhus, BV, 2-0 default
Consolation finals: Maddie Eisenbeisz, HA, def. Engelhart, H, 8-5

Fifth flight
First round: Say Ma, H, def. Addison Bohy, HA, 10-4
Semifinals: Ma, H, def. Teya Badger, BV, 10-5
Championship: Faith Berg, W, def. Ma, H, 10-5

Sixth flight
Play-in: Evelyne Lima-Zapon, Y, def. Ann Hoek, H, 10-7


First flight
First round: Emily Ringgenberg/Alice Vogel, AC, def. AnneClaire Rubish/Lizzy Heinen, H, 10-6
Consolation semifinals: Rubish/Heinen, H, def. Mckenzie Vickery/Erika Starr, HA, 8-7 (3)
Consolation finals: Amber Moller/Delaney Degen, M, def. Rubish/Heinen, H, 8-3

Second flight
Play-in: Bianca Medina/Beth Engelhart, H, def. Paige Foster/Brea Tonsager, B, 10-1
First round: Jaida Young/Leyla Meester, W, def. Medina/Engelhart, H, 10-5
Consolation semifinals: Medina/Engelhart, H, def. Frannie Kouri/Meagan Scott, Y, 8-0
Consolation finals: Marlee Shorter/Kourtney Walti, P, def. Medina/Engelhart, 8-2

Third flight
First round: Jocelyn Corrales/Caitlin Ott, P, def. Say Ma/Ann Hoek, H, 10-7
Consolation semifinals: Ma/Hoek, H, def. Evelyne Lima-Zapon/Kara Koemer, Y, 8-7 (2)
Consolation finals: Ma/Hoek, H, def. Faith Berg/Sophia Nichols, W, 8-7 (6)