Tigers land pair on All-ESD volleyball team

HURON — Two members of the Huron volleyball team were named to the All-Eastern South Dakota Conference team for the 2017 season.
Earning first-team honors for the Tigers were senior setter Jayda Shillingstad and sophomore libero Havyn Heinz.
Also named to the first team were seniors Laura Babcock and Paiton Burckhard of Aberdeen Central; senior Paige Timmons of Brandon Valley; junior Michaela Jewett of Brookings; seniors Rachel Nelson, Avery Thorson and Madison Wassink of Harrisburg; juniors Mackenzie Miller and Mandy Schmidt of Mitchell and junior Mariah Gloe of Watertown.
Earning honorable mention were senior Carlie Fikse of Harrisburg and junior Chelsea Brewster of Mitchell.
Harrisburg finished on top of the final ESD Conference standings with a 16-0 record. Mitchell was second at 12-4, followed by Aberdeen Central at 11-5, Watertown at 10-6 and Huron at 9-7.
Brookings and Yankton shared the sixth spot with records of 5-11, while Pierre was eighth at 4-12 and Brandon Valley was ninth at 0-16.


Huron senior Jayda Shillingstad sets the ball during an Eastern South Dakota Conference volleyball match against Aberdeen Central on Oct. 5 at Huron Arena.

Next, Huron sophomore Havyn Heinz passes the ball during a match against Aberdeen Central on Oct. 5 at Huron Arena.

Photos by Mike Carroll/Plainsman

Video News
More In Homepage