Swenson inks late model win at MCS

PHOTOS BY ALLEN BECKER/CORNER 4 PHOTOGRAPHY Brad Kopecky of Miller (5), Robin Schmitt of Redfield (2) and Doug VanLiere of Madison run three wide during their WISSOTA super stock heat race Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

MILLER — Chuck Swenson of Watertown broke into the win column on Saturday night at Miller Central Speedway.  The veteran late model driver started on the outside of the front row and earned the victory in the 20-lap feature race.

Swenson held off Chad Becker of Aberdeen, who started sixth in the 9-car grid. It was Swenson’s first feature win in a late model since July 15, 1990, which was the year he won the WISSOTA late model national title.

Chase Gelling of Aberdeen was third after starting on the pole, while Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence was fourth and Josh Skorczewski of Aberdeen was fifth.

Cole Searing of Huron and Becker won the late model heat races.

Trevor Nelson of Warner found his way back to Victory Lane in the WISSOTA super stock division on Saturday. It was the 12th win of the season for Nelson, after he recorded his lone did-not-finish during his previous trip to Miller on July 23.

Nathan Grehl of Hitchcock, who earned a second straigh win on Friday at Brown County Speedway in Aberdeen, worked his way to the front from the sixth starting spot to finish second.

Shawn Schnabel of Aberdeen was third, followed by Doug VanLiere of Madison and Brad Kopecky of Miller.
Nelson also won the lone super stock heat race.

Luke Johnson of Miler started on the pole and stayed in the top spot to win the 12-lap WISSOTA street stock main event.

Kyle Bertram of Dallas worked his way to second from the sixth starting spot, while Maria Broksieck of Goodwin charged from eight to finish third. Michael Bogh of Huron moved up three spots to finish fourth, while Broc Stout of Winner was fifth.

Bertram and Broksieck claimed wins in the street stock heat races.

Britt Williams of Ft. Pierre (69) and Matt Heinzlerling of Spearfish battle for position during their WISSOTA Midwest modified heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Adam Brotherton of Huron won his second main event of the season at Miller and fifth overall in the WISSOTA Midwest modified  feature race.

After starting fourth on the 15-car grid, Brotherton was able to make his way to the front to win the 15-lap main event.

Lane Johnson of Miller tailed Brotherton across the line to finish second, while Matt Heinzerling of Spearfish moved up five spots to finish third. Rounding out the top five were Jayme Peterson of Highmore in fourth and Taylor Schmidt of Bath in fifth.

Peterson and Brotherton won the Midwest modified heat races.

Despite blowing his motor on Friday in Aberdeen, Mike Stearns of Aberdeen was able to regroup and get the win in the WISSOTA modified feature race on Saturday.

Stearns topped the 4-car field, whlie Brian Diede of Huron was second. Rounding out the field were Dale Ames of Huron and Dave Brooker of Tulare.

Stearns also won the lone modified heat race.

After racing from eighth to finish in the Pump-N-Pak heat race, Mike Hammill of Miller inked the win in the division’s 10-lap feature race.

Cody Songer of Wolsey was second, followed by Camden Rasseel of Woonsocket, Jordan Kienow of Miller and Mackenzie Kopecky of Miller.

Just two nights of racing remain in the points season at Miller Central Speedway. All six classes will be back in action at 7 p.m. Saturday, with the season championships to follow on Aug. 12.

The Advantage RV Mod Tour will make a stop at MCS on Aug. 13, with the Tri-State Late Model Series to visit Miller on Aug. 19.

Chuck Swenson of Watertown (X) leads Chad Becker of Aberdeen during the final lap of the WISSOTA late model feature race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Miller Central Speedway
July 30 results

Pump-N-Pak Pure Stockes
Heat 1: 1, Mike Hammill, Miller; 2, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 3, Andy Brooker, Tulare; 4, Jordan Kienow, Miller; 5, Camden Rassel, Woonsocket; 6, Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller; 7, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare; 8, Mitch Scott, Ft. Pierre.
Main event: 1, Hammill; 2, Songer; 3, Rassel; 4, Kienow; 5, Kopecky; 6, A. Brooker; 7, Scott; (did not finish) 8, W. Brooker.

WISSOTA Street Stock
Heat 1: 1, Kyle Bertram, Dallas; 2, Clifford Houser, Kimball; 3, Kenneth Clements, Madison; 4, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 5, Brandon Hammill, Miller; 6, Wesley Wulff, Gann Valley; (did not finish) 7, James Hoing, Kimball; 8, Jayden Bogh, Huron.
Heat 2: 1, Maria Broksieck, Goodwin; 2, Broc Stout, Winner; 3, Luke Johnson, Miller; 4, Michael Bogh, Huron; 5, Matt Goth, Huron; 6, Casey Carstens, Mitchell; 7, Jace Baloun, Highmore.
Main event: 1, Johnson; 2, Bertram; 3, Broksieck; 4, M. Bogh; 5, Stout; 6, Hoing; 7, Goth; 8, Michaelsohn; 9, Wulff; (did not finish) 10, Clements; 11, Hammill; 12, J. Bogh; 13, Carstens; 14, Houser; 15, Baloun.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Heat 1: 1, Jayme Peterson, Highmore; 2, Matt Heinzerling, Spearfish; 3, Taylor Schmidt, Bath; 4, Chad Kopfmann, Alpena; 5, Britt Williams, Ft. Pierre; 6, Trevor Ryan, Highmore; 7, Joel Reiter, Kimball.
Heat 2: 1, Adam Brotherton, Huron; 2, Lane Johnson, Miller; 3, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 4, Damon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre; 5, Jake Wranek, Winner; 6, Jordan Kienow, Miller.
Main event: 1, Brotherton; 2, Lane Johsnon; 3, Heinzerling; 4, Peterson; 5, Schmidt; 6, Wranek; 7, Hoftiezer; 8, Williams; 9, Ryan; 10, Kopfmann; 11, Reiter; (did not finish) 12, Lorin Johnson; 13, Kienow.

WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 2, Brad Kopecky, Miler; 3, Doug VanLiere, Madison; 4, Robin Schmitt, Redfield; 5, Shawn Schnabel, Aberdeen; 6, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 7, Dave Duff, Redfield; 8, Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley; (did not finish) 9, Dale Tomes, Dell Rapids.
Main event: 1, Nelson; 2, Grehl; 3, Schnabel; 4, VanLiere; 5, Kopecky; 6, Duff; 7, Zastrow; 8, Schmitt; (did not start) Tomes.

WISSOTA Modified
Heat 1: 1, Mike Stearns, Aberdeen; 2, Dale Ames, Huron; 3, Brian Diede, Huron; 4, Dave Brooker, Tulare.
Main event: 1, Stearns; 2, Diede; 3, Ames; 4, Brooker.
WISSOTA Late Models
Heat 1: 1, Cole Searing, Huron; 2, Blake Swenson, Watertown; 3, Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen; 4, Chase Gelling, Aberdeen; 5, Trajan Schmidt, Watertown.
Heat 2: 1, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 2, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; 3, Chuck Swenson, Watertown; 4, David Carlson, Huron; (did not finish) 5, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen.
Main event: 1, C. Swenson; 2, Becker; 3, Gelling; 4, Arthur; 5, Skorczewski; 6, Searing; 7, Carlson; 8, B. Swenson; (did not finish) 9, Schmidt; (did not start) Thomas.  


More In Sports